Knitting and Stitching Show Harrogate 2013

Standard

Um, yeah, this post is a little overdue… So I went to the Knitting and Stitching Show again this year with my Mother and my Aunt. We went on the Thursday and it was not too busy which was nice. I didn’t have much of a list and I actually managed to find a few things off it. Once again though I didn’t manage to find yarn for a sweater that was on my list. I did actually find some yarn I liked but the seller didn’t have enough balls of it so I spent the money on something else!

008

The owl fabric is for a bag of some sort, the samples hanging up were so cute that I had to have some. The map fabric is furnishing weight and for an Ottoman that I want to make at some point which will also use linen.

006

I got two books of patterns, the single pattern for that blue sweater which looked much better in the sample and I also got some patterns to crochet giant animal head cushions which isn’t pictured as it was emailed to me. The yarn is some cotton to make a dishcloth, there are some strong magnets to hold my needle and scissors on my cross stitch and a pom-pom for a hat as it was such a cool colour.

007

Some more of the green fabric from Monkey Buttons was first on my list as I love it. I bought three half metres and intend to make some cushions at some point from it. The fabric under the bag pattern is for that pattern but I subbed some fabric in it and now I’m not sure I like it all together or not. I think I might get some plain grey linen for the outside and then use a few of the other bits with it, I have too many bright bags that don’t go with any of my clothes already!

And that was it. We had a lovely lunch at Wagamama’s as usual and wandered around each hall several times before making our way home. We thought it was a well-balanced show this year with a nice mix of knitting and sewing. I imagine if you only do one or the other you can find this show a little annoying but for me it’s nice to be able to look at all the crafts I do in the same place.

One response »

  1. Oooo you got some lovely stuff. I was admiring that map fabric at the end of the day but my purse was empty and I didn’t have a project in mind for it so I really couldn’t justify it

Something to say?

