Spring Greens

Standard

Green is my favourite colour, so I obviously tend to lean towards it when buying fabric and yarn. I don’t usually finish so many green things in a row as I have done recently though, maybe it’s the season!

First up is Hitchhiker, again by Martina Behm. Apparently the answer to the universe using Yarntopia Treasures 100% bamboo is 45 rather than 42, or maybe that’s just the answer of someone whose favourite numbers are those with 5’s in them and who hates to waste yarn!

008006The colourway is called Desert Locust and I just kept knitting until I couldn’t do another repeat. Again, no blocking as it won’t make a difference or stick with 100% bamboo.

007

I finished up a few bits in the sewing room and decided to get another thing off the piles of crap waiting so I made another cushion. According to Ravelry I started the Babette Blanket in 2010 which explains why the bag was so dusty when I found it behind my sofa last month! I realised at that point that I was never going to finish it and when I saw that what I had done was the perfect size for a cushion I blocked it and ordered the filler to go in it.

001002

The colours on this are so wrong, it’s much brighter and limey and the dark green on the back is a forest green. I did a french seam with my walking foot to make sure it was well attached and so I didn’t have to turn over the edges on all four sides of the backing pieces! I love the way this turned out and I’m so glad it’s something rather than another annoying bag taking up space.

And, finally, a jumper I started in December, worked on furiously and then abandoned until recently when I worked on it furiously again! This is Gathering Stripes by Veera Välimäki using Sirdar Calico from Kemps. This is so very me right now, stripes, grey and green, I just adore it.

003005

This is such a well written and easy to follow pattern and using one of my favourite yarns in the round it was a joy to knit. I was sure I needed buttons and didn’t have anything right in my box and then I found these which I think work quite well.

001002

I added a few inches to the length as I like jumpers to hit my hip bones and cover my ‘mummy tummy’ completely. I got right to that last bit before I realised that I didn’t have the right size circular for the hem so I had to wait for that to arrive before I could finish. I love the hems, the just add something and the were very easy to stitch down t00.

004

Just like me to finish a jumper right when the weather is warming up, but there you go, I’m sure it will get a lot of wear when I can!

Next up is lots of quilting, I’ve got one pin basted waiting to be started and two after that sitting in line!

 

2 responses »

  1. Oh goodness – the Hitchhiker is glorious in that yarn! You are giving me the itch to make one! And I love your sweater too :)

Something to say?

