Lotus Blossom Shawl FO

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

So the shawl blocked out quite nicely, although the laceweight cotton actually wanted to stretch out bigger than the 72 inches called for by the pattern. I didn’t overstretch it though after the yarn snapping incident at the end of binding off.

I fixed the hole that I found and it doesn’t seem to be noticeable and I’m sure that no one will notice that the bobbles are crap and off centre unless they look far too closely, I know to take more care next time I use that technique.

Here’s another photo, the colour is pretty true, the colourway is ‘Sunrise’ and I’d like to know where in the world you can find a sunrise in these shades!

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

The yarn company are called Blue Heron and I won the yarn on Ebay. I have a lovely blue colourway for the Shoalwater Shawl that I’m looking forward to knitting up.

I’d recommend this pattern to a beginner shawl knitter without hesitation, the charts are nice and large and for any sections that are plain knit of 6 stitches or more they have handily put in the number for you so you don’t go blind counting and re-counting little squares. It’s also a pretty simple pattern, only the last third of it, when you’ve built up your confidence, requires a bit more concentration, I’ll be keeping this pattern as I’m sure I’ll want to knit it again in the future.

I am thinking Diamond Fantasy Shawl as my next one but I need to get stuff off the needles like I promised myself before I cast on. I’m feeling pretty apathetic and unmotivated at the moment, hopefully that will pass soon as my pile of stuff to sew is getting out of hand again, procrastinating does have it’s benefits though as my fabric stash is now all neat and tidy again!

Something to say?

