Tidying Up

I decided a few weeks back that in the next few months I’m going to try and sell my business. Although I love sewing I’ve found that my enthusiasm for what I do has really waned and I end up feeling more and more guilty for not working but still not ever having the motivation to do the work (bad side of working for yourself!). I’m quite excited about it ending now so I know I’ve made the right decision, although there will most likely be tears before it’s all over as I’ve been working at this business since Little One was a teeny weeny Tiny One (I was blessed with a baby who slept and only woke every 3 hours to eat so I was quite bored!).

Anyway, I figured I may as well get going and begin to sort things out as I will need to write up a full inventory of what I’m going to sell and exactly what I have to sell, so I removed all the work related fabric from my stash and put it away in big blue Ikea bags all ready to be measure and photographed when we actually get some light around here! I also took out a yard here and there of fabric for Little One and the future baby, fabric that when I got it I wished I’d bought personally rather than for the business!

Once all that was done I rearranged my stash, put away the pile of fabric that was on the floor and discovered that I seem to own quite a bit more fabric than I thought I did….

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

So this afternoon I made something to take my mind off it:

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Tee Hee!

I have had the fabric dyed and ready to go for that curtain since we decorated the room and have just never managed to make it. I have to admit that I didn’t hem the bottom of the curtain, it’s just overlocked and left that way, I’m sure no one will be studying the bottom of my curtain! I now need to figure out how to cover the top of the alcove so that I can hide more stuff on the top shelf!

I also finished off another pair of summer pj’s for Little One using some cotton from a fabric co-op and the buttons are from my late Great Aunt’s button tin that my Aunt gave to me when we saw them a few weeks ago, there are some fabulous buttons in there!

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

I got my patterns today and there is a skirt in there that I’m considering making next. I also got a pattern for a retro apron but I can’t decide which fabric to use for it and I don’t have any contrasting fabric for anything else it seems to I will keep thinking on that one! I cut out a t-shirt for myself but I’m dreading making it now as the fabric was a real pain in the ass to cut, it’s very drapey and kept moving… Hopefully it won’t be that bad, I’ll give it a go later maybe.

I have started the raglan shaping on Clover but not gotton much further than that, we have a film and an episode of Bones to watch later so I will try and make some progress on that. The only knitting that is really growing is the Shoalwater Shawl, I seem to be doing at least 4 rows of it a day, the colours are lovely, very subtle.

Right, off to get a take-away as we need to do our monthly shop tomorrow and I don’t feel like cooking!

Something to say?

