Trouser Frustration

I need new trousers… I have huge boxes full of patterns and I can’t find one that I like. I also have large amounts of fabric, but I can’t find anything I want to make into a pair of trousers…

I need something plain so that I can wear it with various bright print shirts that I have planned or have made. Although, I am going to make some plain tops to go with my bright print skirts, but I don’t want to make any of the trouser weight prints into trousers either at the moment….

I also have a problem getting stuff that fits me and looks ok. My waist to hip ratio doesn’t fit standard sizes and I’m wide and short rather than wide and tall like most patterns and shops assume I should be.

To top it off the lovely pair of striped linen trousers I made are now too big for me and I’ve only lost 5lbs, so I don’t want to make something that I will only get to wear once before I have to adjust it. The pair of trousers I made before those were too big and are now living in the ‘save for maternity clothes and post-baby clothes’ box that I have in the bottom of my wardrobe…. I have this great fear of ‘wasting’ the fabric, I have some wonderful cord prints in my stash and I don’t want to use them now because they will soon either be too big or too small for me and I feel that it would be a waste of such nice fabric….

I want to change my style but I can’t figure out exactly to what or how to do it, or how all the different prints and pieces I’d like to make will fit together. I’d like to make more skirts but it’s still freezing here and even with thick tights I couldn’t wear a skirt yet.

Where do you all look for inspiration on what you want to buy or make and how you want to look? I don’t even know what style of pants to make, drawstring waist would last me the longest but are also incredibly unflattering and make me look like an old lady (I’ve determined that I’m bordering on ‘apple’ in body shape, nice….). Elasticated waists are the same. I don’t like low cut hipsters as I feel like they’re always falling down, but I equally don’t like trousers that are up high around my waist as I have a short body and it feels like they’re right under my armpits…

I have denim, plain and stretch with a pink undertone, but I don’t fancy putting all that effort in proper jeans to have them not fit in a short while (I’m determined to keep loosing weight).

Yes, I could go and buy something but then not only would I have to deal with the guilt of not using my fabric stash and spending money when I’ve already spent money on fabric and patterns but I’d also have to deal with the huge frustration of not finding anything I like that I can afford and what I do like not fitting me or making me look like crap. I am not a happy clothes shopper…

Someone help me here, I’m so frustrated and I don’t know what to do! I’m living in 2 pairs of jeans and 2 pairs of sweatpants and I’m bored to tears with it…

Something to say?

