Lucky Clover Wrap FO

Holy hell, I finished off this sweater finally! It took over a year to do this and it’s finally finally done:

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

and the back

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
I think the light is making my hair look brighter than it is in real life.

Every other one of these I’ve seen fits quite tightly and mine came up quite baggy for some unknown reason. If I were to ever make this again (and believe me, I never will unless I loose my mind) I will make a smaller size.

I think I will wear this, it occurred to me that you can’t really wear it open which could be a real pain in the ass when it gets hot. It will also be useful as a maternity sweater as the fronts cross completely across the body so it can be tied more widely open if it needs to be. I don’t know if that made sense, I’ve got a huge headache and am just about to go to bed for a nap.

I have to put to record once again how much I dislike this pattern, it’s the main reason that this project took so damn long. I found it vague, frustrating and unhelpful, I think this is probably also the reason that the KAL kind of petered out. There weren’t stitch counts where you needed them to be, basic information that would have been helpful was left out (for example it gave you how many stitches to decrease but didn’t say that in the end you’d be left with 1 stitch, basic information) and the finishing directions were pretty much a disgrace on par with Rowan patterns. I am a pretty experienced sewer and it took me 2 hours, a lot of pins and an amazing amount of stretching and easing in to get the neckband to fit. Had I not had easing experience I would have ripped the sweater and called it a day, yep, even after a year of making it, it was that bad…. My understanding is that the Stitch and Bitch books are written for new knitters, this pattern doesn’t belong in a book for that audience. And that’s all I have to say about that.

Anyway, I am almost done with Retro Prep as well, I’m about to start the neck shaping, it’s one of those sweaters that you just casually knit away on here and there and all of a sudden you’ve got a whole sweater, it’s great!

Something to say?

