Brown Bag and Gnomes

I finished off the bag yesterday afternoon and I’m really pleased with how it came out:

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

The fabric is a remnant of cord that I found, I think it cost around £2.50 (@ $4.60) and the lining is the same Ikea cotton that I keep using. I used medium weight interfacing on both outer and inner to make it stiff enough to hold the shape. It’s about 11 inches tall, 14 inches wide and 6 inches deep, so big enough to hold plenty but not so much you can’t carry the thing! The handles are just long enough to put it over my shoulder, if I make it again I’ll do them a couple of inches longer I think.

It has four nice big pockets inside,

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Little pockets on the side handy for sunglases and mobile phone

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

and tabs on the top to pull in the sides

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

The pattern is from a company called Favorite Things and the pattern is called An Everyday Bag. I bought the pattern from Island Girl Handbags and Patterns on Ebay (where I’ve also bought half of my Amy Butler patterns), great service and shipping at cost.

I then whipped up these pyjamas for Little One (literally, it took less than an hour!):

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

This Heather Ross fabric was not intended for him at all, it was mine all mine and he only saw it because it was drying over the banister. But how can you resist it when a 3 year old stops, points at the fabric and says ‘I, I like those’ and then when told they’re Gnomes says ‘I like Gnomes’? I couldn’t, so I made him a pair of pj bottoms and ironed on a bit of the fabric and then machine stitched around it to make the matching top from a store bought t-shirt. Boy does he look cute in them too!

Today I made the first of my black t-shirt trio, this one is Simplicity 5098 and I apologise for the bad photo, taking a picture of a black t-shirt is hard work:

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

The only change I made was that I sewed the front flap shut instead of using snap tape. The reason behind this was simple, I never read that I needed snap tape, I don’t own any and all my snaps are counted to be sold with the business and buried in a box somewhere so I didn’t want to dig them out. My only other option was velcro and that kind of scared me, so I pinned it together to make sure my head would go through the hole and then stitched the seam. It is a little bit tight but not obscenely so, I think I should get a lot of wear from it. I will be making the other 2 black t-shirts next as the overlocker is now threaded with black thread and I’m too lazy to keep changing colours all the time.

Today we went to 2 of the local museums for short visits. All Liverpool museums are free so it doesn’t matter when you or your small child get bored after an hour, you can just go back and see more another time. I was delighted to see when we got to the Walker Art Gallery that not only did the have a room all set up for kids to play in but there was a special collection showing called A Passion for Fashion: a Liverpool lady’s wardrobe. When I walked through the door into the display room I said to myself ‘Gina would LOVE this’, lol. The clothing on display ranged from 1910 through to about 1945 (she had kept almost everything she owned amazingly), there was daytime fashion, eveningwear, children’s clothes, furs, hats, shoes and undergarments on display. Not a ton of each but enough to get a good taste of it.

Emily had a taste for the darker colours, almost all of her eveningwear was black (although it said that she and her husband very rarely went out so it is assumed that they just dressed for dinner, backed by the fact that she didn’t own any evening shoes), and her day to day clothes were mainly browns judging from the collection. This lady was a real shopoholic, some of the garments still had the pricetags on them which was really funny. She had 7 children but also 7 servants and a rich husband so she apparently spent most of her time shopping!

Several things really struck me, the first was the difference in fashion between 1910 and 1930, it went from the ruffled shirt and long skirted Victorian/Edwardian style to wonderful day dresses with straight lines and darker colours. What got me the most though, and what I thought Gina would find fascinating too (is it sad to wish that you could share something with someone you’ve never met?) is the change in Emily’s figure as shown by her wardrobe. As I said, she had 7 children, so she went from a very slim girl in 1910 when she got married to quite a matronly figure during her pregnancies and directly after and then towards the later period of the display she regained some curves and things became more fitted again.

The other thing that was really nice was regarding the fur coats (that’s odd for a vegan to say, but bear with me). Apparently Emily very rarely ever wore a fur coat, and yet she had a rather large collection of them. The majority of these coats were purchased during the depression and her family believe that she bought the coats to help keep the shops she adored in business during the hard times, and also gave a good commission to the salesgirls. Isn’t that nice?

Anyway, it was a really nice morning spent wandering around and watching Little One play with things and get excited about what he could play with. There’s a collection of fashion photography coming up at another local museum soon which I’m going to be sure to catch.

So, I shall stop rambling on now and end with a question. Has anyone knit Green Gable in the large size? Does it really take 1075y of yarn??? I would buy 1200y for a long sleeve unfitted sweater and normally use less than that so I can’t figure out how a short sleeve fitted top with hardly any sleeves will take that much yarn, please help (like I really need to cast on for something else!)!

Off for more CSI and to connect the body and sleeves of Sitcom Chic together, hopefully my gauge will survive the change from straights to circulars.

Something to say?

