Enhancing the Stashes

As promised these are the fabrics that I picked up at the shop yesterday. The photos were taken while they were hanging on the washing line so sorry about the shadows!

I realised a short while ago while trying to match fabric up to the vintage patterns I’ve bought that I didn’t have very lengths of fabric long enough for many of the patterns. I tend to buy 2 or 3 yards of fabric and most of the dress patterns are calling for 3 or 4. Some patterns I can get around the shortage with some better pattern placement than the instructions call for but one of my aims at the shop was to get some dress length pieces and I’m happy to report that I managed.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
this will be a 50’s house dress with a really pretty neckline from a mail order pattern.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
this is currently sitting with a 70’s dress pattern waiting to see how I feel about it in a week or so.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
this was half a yard of fabric which has already been cut up for a shirt I hope to get sewn this evening when it’s cool enough to actually be in the sewing room. Yes, I know I said I was going to work on Little One’s stuff but this fabric is so pretty and it’s so hot here I need thin summer shirts!

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
the colour is wrong on this, it’s a darker green, no plans for this yet but it’s a very thick cotton so it will probably go for a winter dress.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
this is sort of gauze like and it earmarked for a 70’s shirt pattern.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
I love this fabric, it’s a very thin soft cotton and the print is deliberately faded on it. I have no plans for this yet, I think it wants to be a shirt but I don’t think I have the perfect pattern yet.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
and this is so the other stash doesn’t get jealous! It’s 4 skeins of Sock Candy which is the cotton sock yarn that the Socks That Rock people make. The green colourway is called Kiwi and the pink and peach is Ambrosia. I admit I’ve since ordered 2 skeins of a colourway called Lemongrass and also wound 1 skein of Ambrosia into a ball and started on some toe up plain socks but it got too hot and my hands got sticky so I’ve only got about an inch of the toe, but it’s gorgeous stuff, I’m in love! (Michelle, it looks nice on 2.75mm needles, US2 for when you get yours, US1 were too small!)

Something to say?

