Summer Sewing

The weather around here makes it seem like summer is now over, but I’ve finally finished off Little One’s summer sewing, except for a pair of pjs which will be too big for him until fall so they’ll get done before then.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

The shorts are made from PRR corded cotton with a boy in a boat fishing (why did I buy fishing fabric when I’m vegan?) and turtles on it and the t-shirt is some nice ribbed stuff from a co-op probably 2 years ago. I dyed them both Bahama Blue. The shorts are a size 92 from Ottobre 2/05 (#14) and are actually girls shorts called Mandarin Pants but I didn’t do the fancy thing with the back pockets or put the drawstrings at the bottom of the legs as the pattern called for, instead I just kept them simple. Little One said he liked them so hopefully we will get some weather warm enough for him to wear them!

I also finished off my dress, I had to adjust the straps twice though, I have now taken 12cms off each strap and am not sure still that it’s enough, I will see next time I wear it. I thought it looked good on my but the photo makes me wonder

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

The pattern is Simplicity 5052 and the only changes I made was to not line the bodice, and of course to add the darts to make the bust fit me. DH seems incapable of taking a flattering photo of me for some reason.

I cut out a shirt this evening which I hope to get done in the next few days, but I still have one or two things planned to make for myself as you can see:

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

I’ve turned the heel on the second Jaywalker sock and am halfway down the foot. I decided that I am going to finish these socks before I knit on any of the others I’ve got going. I have finished the first sock of the Fixation pair and the foot of the Lemongrass Sock Candy one so as soon as I have these done I can crack on with those. I’m finding this pattern very dull now, I honestly don’t see what all the fuss has been about in blogland, they don’t seem more special than the other socks I’ve made, in fact they’re a bit duller to knit than most pairs I’ve made, but I’ve come this far so I will finish.

Hope everyone has had a good weekend, off to do a bit more on the damn socks!

Something to say?

