Old Key West Socks FO

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

It’s a bit dreary here today so please excuse the dark photos.

These were such a fast knit, as I said before I’ve never knit a pair of plain socks so I was surprised at how fast they grew, and so easy to knit at the computer or in front of the tv. I still like my patterned socks though, so I will save the plain socks for colourways like this where I can’t imagine what they’d look like patterned.

The ‘old’ refers to the fact that the colourway was revamped, I have some of the new in my stash as well for future use.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

I knit these on 2.75mm needles and didn’t use a pattern, just fudged how many heel flap rows to do and went from there. I used my standard 52 stitches as that gives me a nice tight sock that doesn’t bunch at the back when I put shoes on or stretch out all flappy around the foot.

Apparently knitting Sock Candy on 2.5mm needles using 60 stitches causes it to pool no matter what stitch pattern you use which is really irritating as there are quite a few patterns I’d like to try with the yarn that use that size needle. It feels too thick to me to use 2.25mm needles with it but I may yet give that a go, but for now I’m going to cast on again for the Waving Lace Socks which haven’t had a look in at all once I got these on the needles!

Amazingly there has been nothing else sewn this week. I think it’s because I know I need to sew my Sew Retro dress and I’ve been putting it off as the directions are a little bit scary:

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

I really love the dress and the fabric so I need to just suck it up and get going with it, I will try and get it done this weekend (it’s a 3 day weekend here) and then hopefully my enthusiasm will be renewed when I don’t have it hanging over my head!

Not very much else knitted either, I have almost finished the back of the Phildar cardigan and will definitely do so today, then it’s onto sleeves I think, I like to get them out of the way. The project is on 4.5mm needles so it’s pretty quick, that is if you can figure out what the instructions mean!

Something to say?

