Licorice Whip FO

I FINALLY finished this sweater yesterday! I can’t believe how long it’s been on the needles, I started it before we went to Portland in October, that’s far too long for knitting a simple sweater like this. The body was finished pretty quickly but it was the sleeves that took an age, I just couldn’t find the motivation to pick it up after I found out I was pregnant and you can see why from the way it fits my pre-pregnancy set dressform:

Just a bit too tight! It’s going to be a while before I can wear this sweater but I’m pretty happy with the way it came out, although my lace isn’t as even as I would want it to be, for some reason my k2togs leave a bit of a furrow before the lace panel starts and one side of the yo’s is looser than the other. This didn’t happen on the sleeves though so I’m not quite sure what went on, but I’m sure with wear and perhaps some blocking at a later stage it will all even out. Sorry about the flash on it, I knew I should have taken the picture yesterday when the sun was out, it’s all overcast today.

I made the medium size which is a 40″ chest. It was knit on 5mm needles (circulars for the body and dpns for the sleeves) and I used Rowan All Seasons Cotton in shade 164, Dusky. I’m glad I didn’t try a larger size as I started on the 10th ball of this yarn (the pattern said I’d only need 9 balls according to the yardage) so if I had made the next size up I’d have run out of yarn for sure. It’s an easy pattern to follow despite there being so many sizes on it and if you don’t run out of motivation it should be a pretty easy quick knit!

I also did some sewing yesterday, I started off with McCalls 3940

I made this pattern ages ago in the long sleeve version and it’s just a bit too short for me now I have a largish bump so I added 2 inches to the bottom of this version and it has come out just fine. It’s a quick and easy pattern to put together the only thing I changed, besides the length, was to edge stitch the facings down as they have a tendency to flip up if you don’t do that.

I then decided to tackle the collar of Simplicity 3888 which had flummoxed me last time I looked at it, I ended up finishing off this shirt yesterday evening, so it was a pretty productive day!

I wasn’t sure this was going to be long enough either but it turned out just fine and it’s a really nice shirt to wear. The bodice fits more tightly than most maternity garments and then all the gathers under it allow room for the bump. There are long ties at the back to tie it to the size you need. The pattern on this fabric has some glitter in it so it’s not as plain as it looks. The fabric for both these shirts came from Abakhan.

My maternity sewing seems to have wandered into all black and white, I’m working on a pair of black linen cropped trousers now and then a white t-shirt. I think what happened was that I found fabric in my stash that I liked but was willing to sacrifice to garments that I would only wear for a few months. I have a ton of lovely prints that would have looked gorgeous in any of these styles but I just couldn’t part with them for maternity clothes! I was going to make a dress but I have realised that in total I will probably only wear it 10 times in total so it’s not worth the fabric or the sewing time so back in the stash the fabric went.

Once I’ve finished these maternity bits it’s onto baby sewing and bag sewing (I have 2 lined up). I’m proud to say though that I’ve not bought one single item of maternity clothing during this pregnancy. I have got some t-shirts, a pair of sweatpants and underwear from last time around but besides that I have made everything else myself and saved us a ton of money. Yay me!

Something to say?

