Clown Pants

I finally got some time to work on the black linen maternity trousers and they ended up in the scrap bag…. They seriously looked like I’d lost 100 lbs and was still wearing the same trousers, even with my big bump in them. Very very odd design and unfortunately the shape of the pieces meant that I couldn’t even cut a different pair of trousers out of the fabric. However, as I’ve only thrown away 3 projects in 4 years I’m not too upset and I found some more fabric in my stash and another pattern and those trousers should be finished today if I get myself together and upstairs to do some work. The last maternity t-shirt is also cut out and ready to go so by the weekend I hope to be onto more interesting things, I’m thinking a bag next and then some sleepsuits.

In knitting Thermal is coming along quite well, I think I’ve done about 7 pattern repeats after the ribbing and I’m loving the way it looks, I will take some progress pictures at some point I promise. It’s a pretty slow knit though as I said before so it’s going to be a while before it’s done!

In sock knitting I finished the first of DH’s socks and am working on the heel flap of the second so they’re coming on nicely. I also cast on for a pair of myself using the yarn that Kathy dyed for me and the pattern Lombard Street Socks from Magknits September 06 edition. I’ve not knit socks with a cable in them for a long time and it’s funny to be knitting a row by row pattern but I’m happy with them at the moment so hopefully they won’t be on the needles forever. I do need to try them on after the next pattern repeat though to make sure the picot edge fits over my heel and up my leg, I’ve not done one before. I’m thinking of knitting another Fixation pair after I get DH’s off the needles, I looked at my Fixation stash the other day and I really should work through it, I think there’s enough for 6 pairs there!

Martha is still untouched, actually that’s not true, I think I did 1 row the other day, I must start picking her up more and get going, I enjoy knitting that pattern, it’s just one of those projects that gets put down one day and not picked up forever…

Whilst pattern diving the other day to find patterns that matched up to some yarn I’m going to buy (like I need more yarn, but it’s a good deal so I’m buying it anyway!) I came across the Icarus Shawl pattern in Interweave Knits (corrected as I originally said Adams Shawl which is by the same designer but is a Knitpicks pattern, I have the pattern and yarn for that too but it’s seriously chart heavy so will wait) and remembered how much I liked it and that there is yarn in my stash to make it, so I kind of cast on for that as well. I know I already have 2 shawls on the needles but those require reading quite intense charts (for me) and at the moment I just don’t have the concentration span to work on them. This shawl, however, is pretty damn simple until you get to the edge so I’m going to let myself knit it and just claim it’s a stash reduction exercise.

So, I’m knitting a little here and a little there of a lot of projects, there’s a lot of variety which is nice as I can pick what I’m in the mood for at the time and something that fits my concentration level, it means that things will take longer to get finished but I think that’s just the kind of knitter I am (and you know in a few months I’ll be complaining about how much is on the needles and having a big push to finish stuff off like I’ve just finished doing!).

Something to say?

