Lana Grossa Socks FO


I can’t believe it’s been this long that I’ve not posted, quite a long break for me and totally unintentional! I finished off this last pair of wool socks, I don’t think I’ll be knitting any more from wool (I do have a wool sweater planned for my Father at some point though). This was the last ball of sock yarn in my stash for the Husband. It’s Lana Grossa Meilenweit 100 Multiringel shade 5020 and I knit them on 2.25mm Knitpicks metal needles which I actually found really nice to use, I will be adding some 2mms to my collection sooner or later as I have some patterns that call for teeny tiny needles and I think I would bend or break bamboo that small (although I will probably buy some Knitpicks coloured dpns in 2mm to test my theory, what can I say they’re cute and cheap).

I’ve been quite down over the last week or so which has meant that I’ve not been sewing and the knitting has been slow progress. I frogged the Dollar and a Half Cardigan last night, I will still make it but my brain isn’t up to the lace pattern at the moment, I need knits that are simple and fun to make so I will cast on for that when I feel like I’ve regained the brainpower.

The house is now on the market and we have 2 viewings booked for Saturday. I have been more upset about selling the house than I thought I would be. I did finally realise that it was the house that was the problem for me and that it wasn’t connected to the splitting up, even if we were still planning on Portland I would be upset about selling the house (even though I really do want to move). I have put a lot of time and effort into turning this house into a home from the wreck that it was when we bought it and I brought both my babies home here. It would be sad to leave it no matter what the circumstances and once I accepted that I began to feel better about the whole thing and am dragging myself back into the land of the living.

I’m working on sewing a dress at the moment, I would like to have that finished by the end of the week (perfectly possible) and carry on with some of the fun sewing projects I have lined up for myself. It’s annoying that when I feel down it’s hard to drag myself into the sewing room when I know that sewing always cheers me up…

Current knits include the Cafe Curtains Socks, I want to finish off the first one this week and get started on the second and my Tree Jacket, I am almost done with the yoke of it which means there are a whole lot of stitches on the needles, it will get faster once I’ve taken the sleeves off and work down the body without having to purl every other row. I intend to cast on for another sweater or cardigan soon as well, I am thinking it may be Dawn from Rowan 35 as that should be quite a fast fun knit but I also ordered some Rowan Cotton Rope from Ebay for a cardigan from the new Knitscene so if I fall for the yarn in person when it arrives it may be the one to be cast on next. Whatever I cast on I’m going to be setting myself knitting and sewing goals each week so I keep moving along with things, I always achieve more when I put what I want to do on my mental ‘To Do’ list, that way it feels justified to sit down and knit for an afternoon or a few hours because it’s something that ‘has’ to be done!

Something to say?

