Need Dress Guidance

My sewing has really slowed down lately, I got bored with the skirt I was making and put it aside, something I don’t normally do, sewing UFO’s are pretty rare for me as once I start sewing something I want to see how it will look finished.

Anyway, I put aside the skirt and cut out a dress that I had been wanting to make for ages. I was chugging along happily when I realised that when I cut the collar I managed to get the print going a funny direction. I don’t have enough fabric to re-cut the collar and I’m now stuck trying to figure out what to do with this dress.

These are the options:

Sleeveless and collarless. I made this dress that way once before and it looks nice. I wanted something a bit different this time around though so this is my least favourite option.

With sleeves but without collar. I’m not sure if this balances out right or not. I wanted sleeves on this so it was a little more formal for office wear, I think that sometimes sleeveless can come across as a bit too casual and that’s not the look I’m after with this dress.

Final option is with the collar and sleeves. If you look closely you can see that the print on the collar runs the wrong way. At the back it runs the right way with the rest of the dress. I know it won’t bother me when I’m wearing it as I won’t see the collar but I don’t know if it will bother other people looking at it with the print going that way, does it look funky?

So, what does anyone think? I really want to finish making something soon before my sewing mojo totally disappears (mind you, I have to go and buy bias binding for this dress so I can’t finish it off until I visit Abakhan anyway). Please let me have your opinions, I just can’t make up my mind and keep going between collarless with sleeves and just putting the collar on and forgetting about the funny pattern placement!

Knitting is coming along, I have now finished the second sleeve of Dawn and have cast on for the second front/back piece so that will be a FO in the next 2 weeks I’d hope. I finished the cuff of the second Cafe Curtains Sock yesterday whilst watching the Superbowl on video (it didn’t kick off until 11.30pm our time and I’m asleep before that!) and also did a few more rows of the Tree Jacket which is growing very very slowly. My goals for this week are to work on the Tree Jacket and Dawn and to finish off the second Cafe sock, I’m going to go and do the heel of that right now.

Thanks for your help!

Something to say?

