Some FO’s to Share

So, I have been knitting and sewing but I just haven’t had the time to blog about them. Here’s a catch-up post of what I’ve been up to recently!

This is a sweater for Piggle that I cast on and completely finished within 2 weeks, I think it’s one of my fastest ever sweaters, even the ones I made Jim in a similar size took me longer than this!

Blogger has decided you should see this picture sideways even though the photo I uploaded isn’t sideways…

This is Sirdar 2256 sized for a 2 year old, the yarn is Sirdar Crofter DK which I will admit has 15% wool in it which does make me feel slightly bad, but not as bad as the fact that Piggle is 17 months and I’d not knit anything for him. The yarn is mock fair isle which makes it fun to knit with as you’re looking for the next pattern to arrive and on 4mm needles in such a small size it knits up really fast and evenly. Hopefully it will wash well and he’ll get a lot of wear from it, it’s still too big for him yet but the colours should really suit him a lot. The whole project including the pattern cost me just over £10 as I only needed 3 balls (only used 2 and a half of them).

My Christmas sewing is coming along nicely too. I made this bag for my sister using the Loes Hinse Weekender Bag pattern that I’ve made twice before. My family never seem to ask me to make new and different stuff for them, I seem to repeat the same patterns over and over again, but I guess if it makes them happy then it’s worth it!

The fabric is a needlecord from the stash that I seem to have a ton of (which is good because I love it). I used a thick iron on interfacing on the fabric but not the lining which is a natural cotton. The lining and toggle are also from the stash, the only thing I had to buy was the zip for the pocket.

I hope she likes the fabric, I think it’s her colours, at the moment she has kidnapped the green version of this I made myself so perhaps I can get that back when she has one of her own!

My next present was this Gratitude Wrap which is a free pattern on the Soulemama blog. I cut out the fabric ages ago but for some reason I thought it was going to be hard to make and fiddly etc. In the end I made it in just over a hour start to finish and I’m happy with the way it came out, although with practice I will get better at putting on bias binding around curves, mine are a little messy but not so bad a non-sewer will notice.

The fabric is from my stash as is the batting inside, I bought the bias binding and the cards, notebook, pen and stamps that I put inside it for her which meant it actually cost more than I intended and I won’t be making her a bag as well (she’s also getting a pair of handknit socks).

I really hope she likes this, she does travel a lot with work so I thought it would be handy for her to pick up and know it has cards etc in it ready to throw in her bag to take with her. I fancy one of them for myself now but I don’t know why I’d ever need one! Perhaps I will do one for Jim now he’s getting into emailing people I could do one and get him into letter writing too!

In other knitting I probably won’t finish the Icarus Shawl by the end of the month considering I’ve not touched it in ages and it’s onto the complicated charts now which require lots of attention and Jim has very kindly given me the cold he’s been suffering with for a week now. I have cast on for another project though, the Vest With Lacy Shoulders from the Twilleys Freedom Gorgeous book with the bamboo Freedom Gorgeous yarn I got from the Knitting and Stitching Show. I’m almost up to the armhole decreases on the back already and it’s knitting up really evenly which is great. I’ve also been working on the blanket here and there which is still great fun.

Hopefully I will have more to show soon, I still have a few simple sewing things to finish off for Christmas and I am also working on my first quilt top, it’s pieced together and waiting for me to sew the strips together now I’ve laid it out (which was harder work than expected not to get fabrics next to each other!) but I won’t be able to afford the backing and batting for that until after Christmas.

Something to say?

