More Christmas Gifts

I have slowly been working away at my list of Christmas gifts, 3 left to go now and plenty of time to get them done (she says optimistically!) so I’m not worried. No doubt I will be up at midnight on Christmas Eve alternately sewing and knitting now that I’ve said how well I’ve done!

I apologise for the bad photo, it’s really hard to take one of something this long when it’s too small to go on the dressform and the light is bad…

The first thing I finished was another nightdress for my Mother. The hardest part of this project was deciding which piece of fabric from my stash I could bear to part with! Since I cleared out all the fabric from my business I’m left only with the bits that I kept for myself because I really liked them. I pulled out several pieces and then put them away before finally deciding on this butterfly rib knit which I do love but I’m sure she’ll like too!

The pattern is Kwiksew 3144 and it’s basically a long raglan t-shirt that goes together in a flash. I used the fabric for the neckband as it was ribbing and I’m pretty happy with the results.

Next up was another Gratitude Wrap, this time for a Secret Santa that I’m taking part in. I used fabric from my stash and only had to buy the bias binding and the things to go in it, saying that though I still spent more than the limit before adding in the fabric and time but there you go…

Blogger is flipping photos for fun again…

I bought some note cards, stamps and a moleskin notebook to go inside. I was really annoyed when the notebook arrived though as this time I followed the instructions properly about how much I should turn under for the pockets seam allowance and the notebook won’t fit in the pocket it’s supposed to… I guess she can put a pen in there for something else. As the wrap was completely done before the notebook arrived I wasn’t about to unpick the binding, the basting and then the pocket seams though so it will have to do how it is. I really like this one, it seems so different from the other one I made and shows how much fabric choices can change the look of a project.

So, still to come are a scarf, a t-shirt and another Kwiksew nightdress. I’m aiming to get the first and last done this week and the t-shirt done next week.

I also finished another knitting project, this is my Extreme Knitting blanket from the kit that I bought at the Knitting and Stitching Show.

It was knit on 24mm needles using 5 balls of yarn at a time. I am happy with the way it came out, it’s big enough to cover my lap and down to my feet when I’m sitting which is all I really need. Jim loves it and is often found sitting under it whilst watching tv!

Other knitting projects are coming along slowly. I am about to start the first patterned section of the Printed Silk Cardigan, I hadn’t realised how difficult the chart seemed so I’m putting that off for a little bit and may knit a sleeve before I attempt it! I finished the back of the Vest with Lacey Shoulders and have started the front, it’s plain knitting until the shoulders so that is a good one for tv watching and should knit up really fast if I keep going on it. I’m about halfway done with the Christmas Scarf, I’m using the leftover Cascade 220 Heathers from my Dad’s Cobblestone and the Yarn Harlot’s One Row Scarf pattern, I’m liking the way it’s knitting up and it’s pretty mindless so it’s going fast on 5mm needles. I’ve not knit on the shawl at all or on my socks, just haven’t been in the mood for them but I’m sure they’ll get done sooner or later, most things do around here eventually!

I’m going to try and get back into the blogging swing in the new year and post more, I do miss posting about my projects and life and keeping a good record of what I’ve been doing and how things are going and I miss the intereaction I got from comments when I was posting more regularly too…

Something to say?

