Pop Quiz

I’m trying to size up the Global Warming pattern (can be found on Ravelry). It’s written for a 32″ chest with negative ease and I want it to fit a 40″ chest with no ease (ie the finished garment to be 40″). Sizing up from the pattern I presumed it would need 200 stitches but when I cast that on, knit a few rows and measured it it was way too much.

The gauge is 5 stitches to the inch so I don’t understand why it was wrong. If anyone can give me an idea of where I messed up and what I should really be casting on I’d appreciate it. I’m estimating that 160 stitches may do it, does that sound about right?

I’m knitting in cotton in case that makes much difference, I know it has more give sometimes that wool and I’d prefer this not to be too baggy, but then again I don’t want it skin tight!

Thanks for any help!

Something to say?

