Busy Busy Me

Since Jim went back to school last Monday I’ve been trying to get myself into some sort of routine.  When Piggle and I get back from the school run he goes down for a nap (lord I hope he keeps napping!) and I do some exercise and then I hit the sewing room until it’s time for lunch.

Ok, I should have warned you to sit down before mentioning the e word!  Yes, I have actually been exercising for the last week and a half and it’s not killed me yet!  I have been using the 10 Minute Solution dvds which come in a huge variety of different types.  A lot of the ones I’ve bought contain the words ‘belly fat’ or ‘abdominal’  in the title as this is the area that bugs me the most about my body.  Well, that’s not true, it all bugs me really, but having a huge belly really gets me annoyed so I’m targeting that area the most.

These dvds work for me as I have a very short attention span when it comes to exercise.  There’s no way I could do a whole workout looking at one person and the repeat that workout every day.  I need variety and to do different exercises and try new things.  What I’ve been doing is 10 minutes of some cardio and the 10 minutes of toning a specific part of my body (this morning the instructor informed me that I’d done a ‘great arm workout’ which I achieved by holding 2 tins of baked beans as I don’t have hand weights).  The fact that I have been feeling muscles ache in various parts of my body that I didn’t know existed suggests to me that I may be dong some good and see some results at some point in the future if I keep going.

I have bought a couple of the dance 10 minute ones and also a kickboxing one, these are totally hilarious as I have no co-ordination, can’t dance and can’t every remember what I’m supposed to do next so I spend a lot of time asking the instructor on my television ‘you want me to do what?!?’.  I have managed not to break anything yet and I haven’t fallen down either so things are going well.

The only issue I’ve had with the dvds was when the instructor on a belly fat one told me to use my lower abdominals.  I’ve had 2 c-sections, I don’t actually think I have any lower abdominals to speak of anymore and I really don’t seem to be able to feel or control them…  Maybe this will change with time and if  I keep doing the exercises that are supposed to work them, but for now those muscles are simply refusing to come out and play…

My plan is to do 20 minutes 5 days a week until the end of the month and then I will go up to 30 minutes, either adding another toning session or a cardio one depending on how I feel that day.  The toning ones make me sweat as much as the cardio anyway so it’s all good.

I’ve been leaving the computer off until lunchtime and have found I get a lot more done that way, I’ve not missed it at all either which is a bonus.  Sometimes I wonder exactly what I spend all the time I’m on the computer actually doing as I never have much to show for it…

After I finish sweating, giggling and tripping over my own feet I’ve been making stuff and it feels great to be back in the swing of things every day rather than just here and there when I can get away for a few minutes.  This first project I made over the weekend while the boys were with their Dad and it’s from a Simplicity 6436 which is from 1974 and looks as so

IMG_3124

That dude is trying to be too cool for his own good…

You may have noticed that I have a thing for vintage shirt patterns, particularly those from the 60’s and 70’s.  I just love the styling of them (although I will be avoiding the turtleneck/belt combo going on in that picture).  This shirt wins the prize for the largest collar I’ve ever sewn on anything.

IMG_3112

This fabric was from Abakhan sometime in the distant past and I’m really happy with the way that it worked with the pattern.  I think it looks a little retro without looking like I’m about to break out singing Night Fever or something similar.

The next thing I finished was actually another knitting project.  I know, I don’t know how I’m doing it either.  I think I’ve just reached the point where I had so many projects on the go that something was bound to be completed at some point.  It also helped that it has no sleeves and I used 6.5mm needles…

IMG_3114

It’s from a Sirdar pattern and I will have to check what my Mother is wearing before meeting her anywhere as she knit one in a different colourway of the same yarn.  It’s an acrylic yarn, James C. Brett Marble Chunky and it’s ok but a little too shiny for my liking.  The great thing about it is that it cost about £6 to make the thing so even if I don’t wear it that much or it goes all bobbly and ugly it won’t have set me back very much.

It was a really easy knit until it came to the front ribbing.  The collar is knit in halves using short rows and all that was fine once I’d managed to pick up the right number of stitches.  It was a complete bitch to pick up and in the end I picked up the number needed for the next size down as there was absolutely no way I could see to get what the pattern called for, I’d picked up from every single stitch along the front.  It doesn’t seem to have pulled up too much though so I think it worked out ok.

Damn, now I’ve got Night Fever stuck in my head….

Ok, moving on.  I cut this t-shirt out in April right after I made the short sleeve version which I wear all the time.  For some reason I just didn’t get around to making it up though until Monday when I pulled it out and got it done in one sitting.

IMG_3125

It’s Onion 5020 using a cheap thinnish knit I got from Abakhan ages and ages ago.  It probably won’t last longer than the winter as the fabric isn’t the best of quality but I’m happy with the way it came out and I’ve been wearing it today and it’s really comfortable.  I decided not to do the small v bit of sewing at the centre front to turn it into a v-neck as I like the way it looks with a rounder neck.

As I said in a previous post it’s time for pyjama sewing again.  The temperatures have really dropped here at night, so much so that I got out the winter duvets last night.  As Piggle has grown out of his flannel pyjamas from last winter I started with him first.

IMG_3133

I only had enough of this flannel to make some bottoms so I dug about in the stash and uncovered this blue rib knit that is a pretty good match.  Threw in some red ribbing and an applique on the front of the shirt and I’m really pleased with the cute factor of these.  I’ve moved up to a T3 in the shirt (from Kwik Sew Sewing for Toddlers) as Piggle’s t-shirts always seem a bit short for him in the T2 size, I figure that even if it is a little large at the moment he’ll grow into it and also the cuffs will stop the sleeves falling over his hands.

Then this morning I cut out and sewed this pair using Kwik Sew Sewing for Toddlers patterns.

IMG_3135

The blue ribbing is quite close to the rhinos colour in the fabric.  I used the T3 pattern for the bottoms of these as well as the top, again figuring that the cuffs would hold them up out of the way if they’re too long for him.

Close-up of the fabric in case you’re wanting to see it

IMG_3136

This was another one from Abakhan picked up on my last trip there.  Abakhan has a lot of roll ends and seconds in their fabric stock and it turned out that this was a second as in quite a few places the ink from the tigers had smudged.  I managed to find a piece with no smudges for the front of the t-shirt and after that I let the smudges fall where they may as they’re not too bad and he’s only wearing these in the house afterall.

So, that’s what I’ve been up to.  Plenty more sewing planned and to do, three more pairs of pyjamas to get both the boys covered for the winter.

In my knitting I’m on the final piece of my Sienna Cardigan so that should be done in the next week or so, I need to remember to start blocking the other pieces while I knit this final front so it’s almost ready to sew together when I’m done.  I have been working here and there on various knitting, I really need to pick something out and concentrate on it to get it done, I’m thinking perhaps the Tree Pullover I’m making for Jim so he can wear it for this winter before he gets any taller!

2 thoughts on “Busy Busy Me

  1. Cute cute clothes as always – you might try the Sparkpeople.com website as they have loads of 10 minute workouts that might keep your interest up…

Something to say?

