Boxleaf Triangle FO

This was a really simple lace shawlette, I’d really recommend it to anyone who wants to give lace knitting a go or is new at reading charts as it’s a simple 10 row repeat with the wrong side rows all being purl.  You can get the pattern here, I don’t normally pay for patterns as there are so many free ones around but I have liked the results from the Anne Hanson patterns I’ve used so far so I’m sure I’ll be buying more in the future, there are quite a few in my Ravelry queue!

The yarn is Bamboo Cotton from Yarntopia Treasures on Etsy in the colourway Cajun.  It’s my favourite shawl knitting yarn at the moment although I think it’s actually intended as sock yarn.  There are 420 yards per skein so it’s perfect for a shawlette.  This pattern called for 300 for the smallest size so I did an extra repeat at the end making 10 in total.  I knew I wanted something striking for this colourway and when I saw leaves the the great way the boxes look around them in this pattern I knew it would be a winner.  It reminds me of Autum.

I love the fact that there are two different types of leaves on this shawl, the ones on the border are so sweet!  Besides adding the extra repeat the only other change I made was with the cast on.  The pattern calls for you to graft the stitches at the middle of the border together at the end.  I tried this with the last Anne Hanson pattern I used and I didn’t like the way it looked so this time I just oversewed it together instead of doing the provisional cast on and I think it looks ok.

And this is how these shawlettes get worn around here.  They’re a perfect weight for not too cold days and I imagine that I’ll be wearing them all through the Spring and then breaking them out again in the Autum before it gets cold enough to need a thicker longer scarf.

Right, off to block the Twisted Tree Pullover and I’ll be back to show you how it looks early next week.

3 thoughts on “Boxleaf Triangle FO

Something to say?

