Sleeve Issues

This is my Ms Pinkjeans using the Mr Greenjeans pattern.  I’ve knit everything except the sleeves on it.  I did the front border first so I knew how much yarn I had left for the sleeves and could figure out how long I could make them.

However, as you can see I’m having some issues with my gauge, well, not really gauge, with my knitting neatness, on the change from knitting back and forth on a circular needle to knitting in the round on dpns. Yes, I know that I row out when knitting back and forth on circulars, it’s something I’ve come to live with now because no matter what I’ve tried I can’t correct it!

I had the same problem with Amelia, the sleeves are much neater than the body and it doesn’t appear to have evened out with washing.

So, I’m not sure what to do, I don’t know if going up a needle size will help, I think that’s the next thing I have to try.

I just know that if I carry on knitting it the difference will bother me like it does when I wear Amelia.  It’s so frustrating to be stalled when I’m so close to finishing it…

Does anyone else have this problem when swapping from knitting back and forth to knitting in the round?  I know I could knit the sleeves flat and seam them but I’d rather not do that as I think it would look odd to have seams there when there aren’t any on the rest of the cardigan.

Any advice greatly appreciated, I really want to get this one done so I can wear it as I’m loving the way it looks!

2 thoughts on “Sleeve Issues

  1. I totally have this problem. I knit a sideways shrug once, where you knit one sleeve flat, knit across the body and then knit the last sleeve in the round. The sleeves were totally different lengths and widths, It was a nightmare that ended up being frogged. I think maybe I knit tighter in the round because I’m trying to hold all those dpns and avoid stretched stitches as I move from one needle to another. I’m afraid I have no advice but I feel for you! You’re not alone!

  2. Kathryn says:

    You’ve already thought of the two alternatives I would have mentioned…changing needle sizes or knitting flat, then seaming.

Something to say?

