Last of the 2010 FO’s

I found the picture of the blouse I made from a vintage pattern but wanted to add more buttons too.  Just as a reminder this is what it looked like made with the number of buttons the pattern called for.

And this is what it looked like after I went back and added two more buttons.

I think it looks a lot better this way and it fits so when it’s warmer I will be wearing it!

November was a pretty crappy month, we were all ill one after another and then we were basically snowed in for 2 weeks.  In those 2 weeks Jim did 2 full days of school and the rest of the time we spent at home.  I did get a lot of knitting done but nothing finished except this pair of socks

Another plain pair using Sock Pixie Vegan sock yarn.

It was also a crappy month for sewing with only one FO coming out of the sewing room, but they were much needed so that’s ok!

Kwik Sew 3126 as per usual but this time using size T4 as Piggle is getting tall and needs the extra length.

December was much better in terms of finishing things off.  As I planned to last year, but didn’t manage due to family matters, I wanted to get as much off the needles as possible so I could start the new year with a clean(ish) slate.

First up were these Sweetpea Socks which had been on the needles since August for some unknown reason…

The pattern is from Knitty and I used Panda Cotton in Tulips (although the label said Telips for some reason!).  I could have done an extra repeat on each leg but as usual I erred on the side of caution as the yardage of Panda Cotton isn’t all that great.  I’m really happy with these, it wasn’t a hard pattern at all but it looks really nice.

These fingerless mitts only took me a month to make, they shouldn’t have taken that but as I have so much on the go at one time things can get lost in the shuffle.

The yarn is some random acrylic that I found in my sewing room and there is no pattern for these, I just made them exactly the same as the last pair I made.  I was picking them up to put them away when I realised that they would get much more use if I gave them to my sister who has a small holding.  I already have a pair in pink and didn’t really need a second pair so these became part of her Christmas present and she was really happy with them.

When I got the box of Christmas decorations out I remembered that I had been meaning to make Piggle a stocking since last year when I had to borrow one from my parents for him!  The pattern for this is called Drifting Snowflake Stocking and it’s available to buy through Ravelry.

I used some acrylic from Boyes and used Aran on 4mm needles as I wanted it to be quite solid and to last a while.  It was my first go at colourwork and I’m pleased with the way it came out.  I do know though that when I’ve done more colourwork and sorted out my gauge issues I will think it looks terrible!  It served its purpose though and I think I will make one for Jim reversing the colours for next year (if I remember before the start of December that is!), I have the yarn I just need to get on with it.

I really want to try and use up some of the yarn in my stash that I have had for ages but don’t have plans for.  Whilst looking through Ravelry I found a Drops pattern which called for the same amount of yarn that I had owned for quite a few years so I cast on hoping that it would turn out ok.

This was an odd garment to make as the whole time I was worried that I wouldn’t have enough yarn (I ended with about a quarter of a ball) and I wasn’t sure that I would like it when it was done.  However, when I put it on I really liked it a lot and I’m looking forward to warmer weather so I can wear it!

The yarn is Adriafil Swing and the pattern is imaginatively called 113-22.  I’m not a fan of the way the pattern was written, it had you measure for every decrease and increase rather than giving a number of rows to work and it was slightly vague in places.  The buttons are from the button box, I seem to have a ton of them so they’ll pop up again somewhere in the future.

Next up was Sirdar 9094.  The main knitting on this was actually finished before the previous cardigan but I was having issues with the sleeve bands.  The pattern called for a number of stitches I was sure was too many, but of course I knit it the way it said to and then ripped it out when it turned out I was right.  I then cast on a much smaller number, knit the whole band and then ripped it out again when I found that it was far too small.  Third time around I used the number for the smallest size and it came out fine.

The yarn is Sirdar Wash and Wear Crepe in Rosehip and the button is from my Great Aunt’s collection.  I’m really happy with this one as well and it fit me nicely.  I seem to have a thing for short sleeved garments at the moment, I can’t figure out if it’s because I’m too lazy to knit sleeves or if I’m just wishing that the weather was nice enough for me to actually wear them!

Here’s a close-up of the pattern in it, very simple to work but very effective.

The yarn was really nice to work with.  I have some stashed for a long cardigan in a tan sort of colour as the two shades were on sale very cheaply at Kemps!

The final garment I finished last year was something I’ve wanted to knit for ages but just hadn’t gotten around to.  The well known Owls pattern.

I knit this sweater in a month and I have to say that I actually don’t remember knitting anything but the yoke of it which I did this last week while the boys were with their Dad.  It knit up really quickly on 6.5mm needles and the owls were very simple.  I used Rowan Cotton Rope which I got from Kemps for about 99p a ball so it was quite cheap to make too which is always nice!

Sewing the buttons on was a complete labour of love, there are 42 of them in total and I did it over about 3 days.  I think they really make the sweater though so I’m glad that I sewed them on.  This sweater is a bit tighter than I like to wear my garments so it won’t be worn immediately (which is annoying as it actually has long sleeves and is a sweater, something lacking in my wardrobe!).  It shouldn’t be long until I can wear it though and I’m looking forward to it.

On a side note before I get into the sewing I haven’t been following my eating plan since near the end of October.  With the illness and being freezing cold as the snow coincided with us almost running out of heating oil and made it impossible for the tanker to actually get to us and then Christmas eating healthily has kind of fallen by the wayside.  However, I haven’t actually gained any weight back which is pretty amazing, in fact when I weighed myself yesterday I was actually half a pound down!  I’m going to get back on the eating plan again later this week (i.e. when all the non-eating plan food is finally gone!) and hopefully the weightloss will get going again.

So, the sewing.  December was all about putting things off and then madly sewing them so they would reach the right people at the right time!

I made my younger sister two aprons.

Butterick 4945 using a linen type fabric from Ikea.

McCalls 5825 using scraps left over from a skirt I made in the summer.

I also made her and her husband a sandwich wrap each as they had admired the boy’s wraps when we visited in the summer.

They got them on time and they seemed to like everything (apparently my Brother In Law looks very fetching in the ruffled apron!).

Next up was gifts for my Aunt.  My Mother had helped me pick out a pattern and fabric from the stash and all was going swimmingly until I got to trying to put the handles on the knitting bag I was making her.  The pattern instructions said ‘attach circular handles’ and I couldn’t find a tutorial of any kind online that didn’t involve sewing them on by hand which is something I wanted to avoid.  I broke 2 sewing machine needles and swore an awful lot before giving up for a while and making her the needle roll that was also part of her present.

I still can’t cut an even rectangle to save my life but it doesn’t look too bad so I am quite pleased with how it turned out.  The fabric is from Ikea and has been in the stash for years so I was glad to use some of it up.

In the end my Aunt and Grandma didn’t come up for Christmas due to the snow so I had a bit of a reprieve and time to think about what to do with the bag.  I managed to buy some different handles and get them attached in a way that didn’t offend every sewing bone in my body.  This bag is nowhere near perfect, it’s a bit of a struggle to get your hand in it as it doesn’t open as wide as it should do but we’re pretending that was on purpose so things don’t fall out of it.

The pattern is Simplicity 4338 and I added the zipped pocket using a piece from a different bag from the same pattern (what is the point of a knitting bag without a zipped pocket?!?).  I hate it when I give a gift that isn’t my best work, especially when it was all going so well and looked great until I got to that final step.  However, I was just wrapping it up in the Christmas paper when my parents arrived to collect it to take with them so there wasn’t anything else I could have done besides not give her a present and apparently she was very pleased with it and loaded it right up so I’ll just let it go and make sure if I make her something else in the future that it does show how well I really can sew!

That’s it for last year, my Ravelry WIP’s are down to 3 now which is probably the lowest they’ve ever been. I’ve got plenty of projects lined up and ready to go though and have done some swatching so it won’t stay that low for long!  Hopefully I will get back to sewing soon and have some new things to share.  I’m halfway through a dress and have a lot of nice things planned to make so if I can find my mojo in the Christmas holiday detritus I have plenty to be getting on with…

4 thoughts on “Last of the 2010 FO’s

  1. I’m in awe of everything! You are so talented, it’s just amazing. Seriously. I don’t even know where to start with the ooohhhing and awweeeing. All of it is just plain fantastic!

Something to say?

