I’m Liking This

Having fewer projects on the go means that I’m seeing finished projects a lot more often and it’s really a great incentive to try to fit even more knitting time into my days so I can get things done even quicker!

But first, a little sewing.  Jim attended his school’s Valentines Day disco and informed me that as it was for Valentines he needed to be wearing red or pink, he wasn’t fussy which one.  Thing is, he’s a redhead, so he doesn’t really own much red and there didn’t seem to be much red in the shops for boys, so off to the sewing room I went to whip him up this.

Kwik Sew Sewing for Children again.  This is the t-shirt pattern but I knew it came up plenty wide and long for a sweatshirt as it’s the pattern and size I used for his pyjama tops this winter.  Everything came from the stash, red sherpa, more poly than cotton ribbing and the plane applique.  He was very happy with it and I was happy because it was basically free and took about an hour to make start to finish!

Sadly that’s all the sewing I’ve done this month.  I was working on a dress and making good progress but then I sewed the facings together wrongly and didn’t realise until I’d trimmed one side so it’s going to be a pain to re-sew them the right way around and I don’t have any fabric left so I can’t re-cut them.  I will get back to it at some point but I was frustrated so I put it down and walked away.

These are my February socks.

It’s a free pattern called Mojo and it was really fun to work on as you’re not making the same sock twice.  I used Panda Soy in the Green Fields colourway.  I didn’t work the pattern on the foot around the sole as I can’t stand stepping on anything but stocking stitch.  I also didn’t do the afterthought heel, instead I found a toe up heel in a different pattern and stuck it in.  These were really fast and easy to knit.  I’ve cast on for the March socks already and am a few inches in, they’re another toe up pair which is odd for me as I’m definitely a top down girl when it comes to socks.

My other FO for this month was a cardigan for Piggle using a Peter Pan pattern.

Best pictures I could get, making a 3 year old stand still is a fruitless task at the best of times.  The back is plain stocking stitch so I didn’t bother with a photo of it.

Piggle has been really excited about this cardigan.  I showed him the pattern and the yarn and he said he liked them and from then on whenever he saw me knitting he asked if what I was working on was for him.  When I was sewing it up I showed him the cables on the front and was applauded and then when I handed him the finished cardigan he carried it around hugging it for half an hour (he only put it down because it was dinner time!).  It’s always nice to have your knitting appreciated!

I made the 4-5 year old size and I’m really glad that I did as, as you can see, it’s just about the right size for him now at 3.  I don’t imagine he’ll be wearing it next winter.  The buttons were from the button box, I have no idea where I got them but I had exactly the right amount.  I did mess up the placement of the buttons, the top 2 are much closer together than the rest, but as I doubt he’ll ever wear it with the top button done up I’m not too worried.  I used Stylecraft Special DK in Khaki and I used just over 2 balls (making this cardigan cost a whopping £5.58 including the pattern!), and I mean just, I only knit the collar and used one length to sew up the sleeve seam from the 3rd ball.  It’s not an irritation to have so much yarn left over though as it’s the same as my crochet blanket yarn in a colour I’ve not used for the main blanket so I plan to use it for the edging.

Jumping subjects again, I seem to have become totally obsessed with crochet blankets.  I am stalled on mine at the moment waiting for 2 more colours to arrive, it’s been weeks now so I’m starting to get a bit peeved, I’ve done 14 stripes but can’t go any further until the last part of my order arrives.  I’ve been watching The Gilmore Girls again recently and the other night whilst watching Episode 12 of Season 6 I was totally distracted from what Logan was saying by the crochet blanket over the back of the sofa he was sitting on in the Dragonfly Inn.  So distracted that I paused the dvd and took a picture of it!

It’s another wavy one but with eyelets in it and more ziggy zaggy than the wave of my other blanket.  What I really love is the colours though and the way they’re put together.  I’ve found a pattern but I’m refusing to let myself look at yarn for it until I have finished one of the 2 crochet blankets that I’m working on at the moment.  As it is I’ve already priced yarn for another blanket, I’m really not sure what I’m going to do with them all when I’m done or why it’s only crocheting blankets that interests me, but there you go, it is what it is!

I’m hoping for 3 or 4 FOs next month, I’m on the front of Biarritz with all the other pieces finished, I’m working on a Drop Stitch Scarf which is working up quickly and is lovely to work on, there’s the March socks and then there’s another sleeveless cardigan on 5.5mm needles which should work up quickly.  Link is coming along slowly but is still an enjoyable knit, I’m not expecting it to be done anytime soon but I know I’ll get there in the end!

Sorry this is a bit disjointed, it’s nearing the end of half term and the boys have been home for a week, I am a bit out of it having twisted my ankle quite badly the other day and hardly being able to walk for a few days.  I actually have to keep checking what day it is and I’m the only one in the house who got dressed today.  We live in a bit of a limbo land during school holidays and apparently my brain can’t write coherent flowing blog posts at times like these!

2 thoughts on “I’m Liking This

Something to say?

