MiniKrea Sewing Pattern Give Away 1

I have two of these give aways to do, this first one has the two unisex patterns and the next one is two patterns for girls.

First up is 20301 which is for balloon trousers as so:

I didn’t actually test this pattern, Maria very kindly sent me a free copy of 30300 to try which looks like this (those are the English instructions to the left).

The patterns come on thick paper which you trace off the appropriate size and are in a good range of sizes (the 20301 I’m giving away is 6 months to 3 years but it is also available in 4-10 years) and include pattern pieces for variations (although no instructions but they’re pretty easy to figure out if you’ve got basic sewing skills).  These are the variations for the pattern I sewed.

For Piggle I went for the standard pattern in 4-year-old size.  Having measured the pattern against a pair of trousers that currently fit him I knew that they would be a bit long but as I was using a summer weight fabric that was fine.

Modelled shots are nearly impossible with 2 boys who don’t stand still, please excuse the flash and the pyjama top!  As you can see they did come out a bit too long but not so long that he couldn’t wear them now if he wanted to.

For Jim I decided to add some pockets and a false fly from the options and to not do the elastic at the bottom of the trousers.

Again, please excuse the flash picture and the pyjama top.  Like Piggle’s I used a summer weight fabric for these (PRR cord dyed grey with Dylon) and didn’t worry that they were too long.  I love the width of the trouser legs for these and will be using this pattern again nearer the summer for him.

Both the boys loved these trousers so I’m sure this will be a useful pattern and considering Piggle is in the smallest size I could very well use it for the next 7 years!  It was really easy to sew, we’re talking as easy as pyjama bottoms, but more stylish than most basic patterns I think.

Maria also sent me a copy of 10400 to try and another copy to give away.

The pattern is sized Newborn to 9 months.  Although I don’t have a baby to sew for I wanted to try this out so I could give you a review of it.  I have plenty of left over velour and terry from sewing for both my boys and making nappies but the nearest fabric to hand was the leftovers from the sweatshirt that I made Piggle recently.  I made the 3 month size as I will probably give this outfit as a gift at some point and most people have enough clothes in the smallest sizes (or like I did with Jim had a big baby and never used the smaller sizes!) so I thought it was a safe bet.

The trousers have the oddest shaped pattern piece I’ve seen, you cut them on the fold (which I had to double and triple check with the pattern because I didn’t believe it to begin with!) and you end up with a piece like this:

The pattern is so simple to put together, it hardly took any time at all and the finished outfit is very cute.

As you can see there is a second set of ties inside to hold it closed and I used ribbing for the edging.  The ribbing was actually a bit too stretchy and if I chose to use it again in the future I will shorten the pattern piece so it fits a little better.

So, there you are!  To win the to patterns (20301 6m-4y and 10400 0-9m) just leave a comment and make sure I have an email address to contact you at.  I will draw a winner by random number generator on January 5th.  The give away is open worldwide and Maria will email the instructions to the winner directly (they are also available in German and Swedish if you would prefer that to Danish and English!) and I will post on the patterns.

Make sure you check out the other MiniKrea sewing patterns at Shop Onion and if you’re sewing for girls check back in a week or so for the final give away!

 

2 thoughts on “MiniKrea Sewing Pattern Give Away 1

Something to say?

