Bloggers Quilt Festival

Although I’ve not been quilting for long I have been wanting to get more involved in bloggy events and this type of thing so here is my entry for the Blogger’s Quilt Festival.

This is my 9 year old son Jim’s quilt which was made using the pattern Small Plates from Elizabeth Hartman’s book The Practical Guide to Patchwork.  It was my third quilt (fourth if you count the quilted advent calender I made) and I really enjoyed the process from picking the fabrics with Jim (he approved/chose every single one!) through to the random line quilting, much of which was done with him looking over my shoulder!

There is a full list of the fabrics that I used in this post.  I was worried about using the Bella weave rather than a solid but I am really happy with the way it came out.

He also now has a matching sprocket pillow made using the Cluck Cluck Sew Tutorial.

There are more details about this quilt and it’s construction and additional photos in my original FO post!
Blogger’s Quilt Festival Stats
Finished quilt measures : 66″x 82 1/2″
Special techniques used : random line quilting, pieced back
Quilted by : Me!
Best Category : Home Machine Quilted, Bed Quilt

9 thoughts on “Bloggers Quilt Festival

  1. So fun that your son was involved in the making of his quilt – he will treasure it always, and you had better save every scrap of fabric left over from its creation so you’ll have pieces for the inevitable repairs it will need in future years! How do I know? My son still asks me if I can ‘fix’ his first quilt, a monstrosity of 60s and 70s poly and whatever-I-had-on-hand dressmaking materials that made up the first scrappy quilt I made for him when he was two – that would be 1978! Needless to say many of those fabrics unraveled terribly and there really is no “fixing” this quilt!

Something to say?

