Ric Rac Rabbits Pinwheels in the Park Quilt

 

Finally getting around to showing you this quilt!  Piggle is very happy with it and it has been on his bed since it finished drying.  I have to say that I adore this quilt, I love all the fabric that I used and I think it just came out really really well.  Plus it was quite fun to make which always helps!

The pattern can be found here, it’s another freebie from Sew Mama Sew.  I did have a couple of small problems and after Googling discovered that no one else has mentioned the errors in the pattern which I find a little odd.  I am not criticising the pattern when I mention these, I’m just trying to save people a little grief when working on it.  First off, the fabric requirements are a mixture of cms and inches which is a little confusing.  The requirement for the binding fabric is wrong, it calls for 20cm and then you’re told to cut 7 strips 2 1/2 inches wide which is 17.5 inches so maybe she meant 20 inches of fabric (I actually only needed 6 to bind my quilt but I know people tend to like to overcompensate on binding to be safe).  From the sashing the pattern says to cut four 4″ strips for the top and bottom sashing when actually you’ll need 6.  I don’t know if this affects the fabric requirements as I used my sashing fabric on the back too so I had tons of it to hand.  The only other comment I have about the pattern, as besides these things it’s clear and easy to use and creates a lovely quilt, is that there is no close up picture of the quilting used, she sort of describes it but doesn’t show it and it would have been nice to see.   Anyway, back to the quilt!

I fell in love with the Ric Rac Rabbits fabric as soon as I saw it on someone’s blog, but when planning to buy a whole collection of fabric I do like to have some idea what I want to do with it so I know I have enough!  I’ve actually got some of the other colourway stashed for myself, couldn’t resist it!  Piggle has a bunny toy that he adores so it was easy to decide to make it for him, then it was just deciding which pattern and this one won out as it uses fat quarters and there were almost enough prints in the range for it.  I have had to use a ric rac print from the designer’s Christmas range and the bird trellis print is from the Meet the Gang range but as the colours across all the ranges are the same they work well together.  After a short discussion with Lynn of Lily’s Quilts on Twitter about cutting triangles I took her advice and starched my fabric before cutting it, I also starched the sashing fabric which is Essex Linen in natural.  It was a lovely fabric to work with and I’ve not ironed the finished quilt so as you can see it doesn’t crease horrifically like some linens do!  The only issue I had with the starch was due to my sensitivity to smell, besides that it kept the fabric in shape and things went together really easily and it washed out fine, I’ll definitely be starching most of my quilt fabric in the future.

The magic in this quilt happens when you add the sashing, before that they are just squares with beige bits in them that look kind of cute but aren’t hugely special.  I trimmed my blocks to 14 1/4 rather than 14 1/2 as I am not perfect and there is always something that needs trimming straight, this made the quilt a tiny bit smaller, about an inch in length and 3/4″ in width.  Once you add the sashing the linen triangles in the blocks disappear and suddenly the windmills pop out and look fab, when I saw it happening I couldn’t stop smiling, it’s just such a simple but great effect, I’m going to be using this block again in the future for sure!

As you can see it’s a little big for the toddler bed that Piggle sleeps in but it will actually be a little short for a twin bed.  However, as he sleeps below his pillow it will be an ok length for him when he moves up to a larger bed.  He could actually do with a bigger bed now (although if he let me take off all the toys at the top of the bed and actually used his pillow it’d be fine!) but the bedroom is too small and my boys are just too rowdy for bunk beds, it’d be dangerous for both of them, so he will have to wait until we move house which will hopefully happen around the summer if possible.

For the back I bought 2 yards of the matching panel print.  I had intended to run it lengthwise with the linen down each side but when I thought about it more I decided to use 2 of the 3 panels I’d bought and sash it on all four sides.  I am really happy with how I did it and that it’s pretty straight.  However, even though I added a couple of inches to my measurements to try to make it bigger than the quilt top it ended up around the same size (yes, I did work seam allowances into my math!).  It made pinning it together really tricky and I actually ended up pinning it twice as I wasn’t happy with the job I did the first time.

I love the way the quilting shows up on the back.  I used Aurifil 50 in shade 2312 for piecing and quilting.  I had bought some grey that I was going to use on the back during the quilting but decided against it and stuck with the natural colour.  I can’t take credit for the quilting idea as I borrowed it from this blog.  I couldn’t decide what to do and nothing I was seeing or thinking about seemed right and this quilting was just what I was looking for, simple and not overshadowing the fabrics or the shapes in the quilt.  I love the way it came out so thank you!

I used Warm and Natural cotton batting for this quilt and really enjoyed working with it.  It isn’t too heavy which was good for this quilt that already had the weight of the linen to it.  Quilts are heavier than you think they are which makes sense when you add up the yardage that’s gone into them (this quilt used 9 yards of fabric!) but I would still like to find a slightly thicker batting, not heavier, just a bit more poofy than the ones I’ve tried so far.

The binding is a Kona Solid in Carrot and I used Aurifil 40 in 2235 to machine sew it on.  The fabric did look a closer match on the colour chart than it actually is, but it’s not bad and again I’m happy with the solid around the outside as it doesn’t distract from the fabric patterns in the body of the quilt.

So, now the boy’s room is fully quilted and cushioned and is getting a lot of cat love as you can see!  I had been planning to start on the quilt for the soon to arrive nephew but I have discovered that the fabric is incredibly off grain so I’m talking to the manufacturer about it which is disappointing as it means I won’t get it done in time to hand over to my sister when she visits in a few weeks.  It also means that I have no quilt to work on as I’ve not finished collecting fabric for any others yet.  I have 6 quilts with partial fabric collected or ideas for what I want to collect but nothing ready to go yet.  I guess this means that I can work on other things for a little while and hope that I manage to find what I need at the Knitting and Stitching Show so I don’t start getting withdrawal!

I have sewn my first Christmas present and finished another knitting WIP so I’ll be back to show you those soonish!

14 thoughts on “Ric Rac Rabbits Pinwheels in the Park Quilt

  1. I love it! And how perfect is the color “carrot” for binding a bunny-themed quilt?! I also love that you showed a picture of the room with both quilts and cushions. Lucky boys!

  2. Peggy says:

    This is very pretty. I have been looking for a pattern for a couple of children but that they could use on in later life. This is perfect. Thank you.

  3. Cindy Pemberton in Sandyeggo California says:

    I adore the quilt also, how warm and cozy will be the memories of these special quilts. Oh the pop on those pinwheels!!! This is what is special about the internet, the blending of ideas and the aftermath of what is created! Enjoy looking at the things created.

  4. Becky says:

    Love the quilt pattern, will have to get it, so I can make it for my grandkids!! You said that you starched some of your fabric and are sensitive to the smell. I did this a few years ago and ended up with a sore throat. I thought I was getting sick and stayed away from my grandson when he was born. But it turned out that it was the starch that had irritated my throat. Now, when I use the spray starch, I use a paper face mask, so I don’t inhale any of the fumes!

  5. Diane says:

    cute, would of used an all over design to quilt though, the background looks plain with the outline quilting, needs a little jazing up 🙂

  6. Hi Anna. I think this quilt looks awesome. I love the ric rac rabbits fabric and pairing it with the linen really makes the pinwheels pop! I think the quilting you used was a good choice as it doesn’t detract from the blocks. Found you through P&J Lets Get Acquainted Link uo.

  7. That is fabulous – you talented lady – how do you find the time to fit it all in ?! I just never seem to find the time to get to my sewing machine 😦

Something to say?

