For the Boys

001

The ‘summer’ pyjama sewing continues, if only we could have some weather to compliment these it would be great… We had about a week of warm evenings and we’re now back to cold nights, it’s gone well past dull and boring now. This is the fabric I bought for Piggle at the Knitting and Stitching Show last year. It was really wide and £8 p/m so I only bought one metre of it hoping it would be enough. It took some very creative cutting and some plain white fabric for the facings to get this short-sleeved version out of the fabric, that boy is getting big now. I didn’t widen the legs on these due to lack of fabric but they look ok on the leggy soon to be 6-year-old.

001

Final pair for Piggle using fabric from Fabricland in Brighton. I’ve got the same in a different colourway to use for Jim this summer too, once again they picked to have ‘matching’ pyjamas, I keep thinking they’ll grow out of that soon but am always glad to find out they haven’t! The pattern for these pairs is the usual Kwik Sew 1556, I think there’s one more size left before he moves on from it.

003

This is Tama by Kelly Brooker. I went to buy the larger sized pattern for the cardigan I made for my nephew and discovered that there was an Ebook for not much more that had this jumper pattern in it too. I have had this CottonEase for god knows how long and was planning on doing a jumper for Piggle with it anyway, this pattern just finally motivated me to use it up! I made the 6-year-old size for him (the largest on the pattern) and made sure that there was enough length in the sleeves and body for him to wear it for a good long while. It looks like there’s a pattern on the yoke but really it’s just that it’s knit back and forth and my gauge when I purl is looser and messier than when I knit in the round. It will even out a bit with washing (I couldn’t be bothered to block a kids jumper) but I wish I could figure out a way to make it less obvious as there are so many patterns now that have some parts knit back and forth and some in the round. Anyway, Piggle likes it, I like it and I can finally tick a jumper for him off my list and get rid of the last bits of this yarn to the charity shop.

001

Jim only needs two pairs of pyjamas this summer and these are the first of them. Again there was some creative cutting on these as I didn’t have as much fabric as the pattern called for, I need to start buying 3m for him instead of 2.5 as I have been. There’s some mirroring across the front of the shirt which is a little annoying but nothing a 10-year-old boy would notice. The pattern is Kwik Sew 1557 and I moved up to the 10-year-old size for him.

A while back I saw on a blog that someone had sewn on buttons in a fun arrow way, I’ve wanted to do it ever since but haven’t used buttons with four holes until now.

002

It’s not actually that clear in the photos but Jim and I find it amusing so that’s ok.

The pyjamas using the dinosaur print are going to be a cutting nightmare as it’s a directional print so I’m putting off working on those for a bit, I’ll get them done eventually.

Next up hopefully is a finished quilt. I’m doing the actual quilting at the moment so as long as I get on with it it should be done during half term, then I can move onto something else, this one feels like it’s been on the go forever for some reason!

One thought on “For the Boys

Something to say?

