Couch to 5K Complete

Today I did the final run of the Couch to 5k plan. I am very proud of myself for finishing it and seeing it through, plus I am extremely happy to have found a type of exercise that I enjoy and actually want to get out and do, on run days I wake up excited that I get to go out which is amazing for someone who has hated exercise her entire adult life and who was expecting to have to force herself to finish this plan. However, I’m not as close to actually being able to run 5k as I would like to be. The total distance covered, according to the Garmin Forerunner 210 I recently bought having asked for contributions towards it for my Birthday last month, was only 2.92 km today.

I have to admit that I’m pretty down about it. I know I move slowly but I was kind of hoping, maybe fooling myself, that I was speedier than that.  It also makes me question whether I can actually do a 10k in April. If it’s taken me 4 months to get to less than 3k is it really sensible to think that I can increase my distance so much in the same time frame?

I’m not going to stop running depressed at my lack of progress, I’m actually intending to increase the number of days a week that I run to four and start to include some different kinds of runs to try and improve both my fitness and my distance, plus some strength work which I am not excited about but I know I need to do. However, I’m not going to book a place in the race just yet, I don’t want to put that kind of pressure on myself or end up attempting to do something I’m not ready to do and failing at it, risking putting me off running as I was put off as a teenager.

I want to keep improving, today I ran further than I usually do, not by a ton but it was still further which means I’m getting better and fitter. If I can keep seeing improvements I will be happy.

Along with the celebration of having completed the entire C25K plan I can also celebrate having lost 7.5lbs this week. I think my starting weight must have been inflated by the stuffing my face prior to beginning and perhaps a bit of premenstrual water weight but even taking those things into account I’ve still lost a nice amount which is encouraging!

It’s never nice to find out that you’re not doing as well as you’d hoped but now that I know where I am at I can work on getting better!

Quick shoe update, the Brooks fit in a 6.5 and I’ve worn them out twice now. The first time both my feet fell asleep in them which was a little worrying (my right foot always falls asleep, I can’t figure out why). Today I loosened the laces in both shoes and only my right foot fell asleep, but not the extent that it usually does. I will try loosening the laces in the right even further next time as an experiment (it’s been happening the entire time I’ve been running so I don’t think it’s as simple as laces). Anyway, they’re really comfortable and nicely padded, plus as there is such a small drop to them there’s no heel getting in the way which is really great. I’m very happy with the purchase!

Something to say?

