Forgotten Things and New Things

I was clearing out my photo folder and came across some things that it appears I forgot to blog about, plus there are a couple of small projects that I’ve managed to finish too!

First up, the do. Good Stitches Bee blocks, these are June’s. They’re paper pieced and it took me until the 4th one to manage to get all the way through without having to rip out a seam, I guess my brain just wasn’t into the paper piecing that day!

006

These are July’s blocks, as I had to buy the cream fabric for them I figured I would use it all up and do three 12″ blocks. All the patterned fabrics for these blocks is coming out of my scrap basket which is nice as it uses it up and means I don’t need to cut into fat quarters for little bits. Anyway, these aren’t my favourite blocks, I don’t really like the design much, I did use a new to me way of making four half square triangles at a time though rather than sewing together tons of triangles as the tutorial said.

014I somehow never blogged about the Emma Louise sweater that I finished at the end of June. I bought the pattern at the Knitting and Stitching Show last year and found the lovely Twilleys Freedom Echo from Kemps in just the blue I wanted to make it in. It’s a recycled yarn and was really nice to knit with.

008

The stripes are made by going from 4mm to 8mm needles for a set number of rows which made this a fun knit as well as being fast and easy. The picture is a bit rubbish as it’s hard to photograph and there isn’t really that hole under the front of the neckband as it appears. This is basically two rectangles with the front being split and the ‘sleeves’ are just ribbing that it sewn on the side making it sort of  a batwing shape.

009

It’s really comfortable to wear and I’m very happy with how it came out.

Whilst watching the boys play at various playgrounds last week I made a very simple crochet dishcloth using a leftover ball of the Echo. I just chained as long as seemed good and then kept going until I’d used all the yarn. I really like the texture of it.

015

I have cast on another dishcloth to carry around with me, I need some new ones and it’ll be nice to get the yarn out of my stash and into use, I think I have four or so that I can make this summer and it makes the sitting about waiting more productive and less frustrating!

I also made this short sleeve v-neck Renfrew t-shirt at the end of June. I used this fabric before years back and this was the other half of the fabric. It won’t hold its shape or its colour for long but it’s a fun summer t-shirt all the same.

007

I have three more t-shirt patterns I want to try out to add a few more to my collection when I get around to it, all are downloaded patterns, two free and one I paid for, so hopefully I will have something to show you soon, although next up for the sewing is to finish off my Scrap Vomit Quilt.

013

The final thing to show you is this very very simple curtain which literally took 20 minutes as all I had to do was to seam the four sides of this piece of fabric. I don’t know where this came from but it looks really nice on this door and lightens up the hallway a lot as the previous curtain was lined and made from quite a dark fabric so it kept the light out. I know this curtain, being unlined, won’t keep the heat in as well as the old one did, but as the cat flap is in the door behind this door it’s never going to be shut anyway so it won’t matter all that much!

On a different note, I think I might have finally found the shelves that can handle my cookbook collection. The previous ones are in my sewing room and are totally trashed from the weight of the books, so trashed that they will be thrown away when we move from here as there’s no point in moving them again. This set is metal and from Ikea, they fit the space in the kitchen just perfectly and I’m not worried about them throwing a shelf of books on my head like the last ones did.

006

I had the books in boxes for about three weeks before I got these shelves and it was so nice to finally have them out and to be able to use them again. There is also room for expansion which is great!

So, that’s it for now, I need to go and buy some oil and lots of flour for the huge baking afternoon I have planned, lots of seasonal fruit to use up (and more bananas on their way out!) and I plan to fill the freezer with treats!

Something to say?

