Curiosity Cabinet Challenge

A few weeks back I followed a link on Ravelry, when I should have been doing something else, and discovered a series of books called The Knitter’s Curiosity Cabinet.  There are three books to the series containing patterns for shawls, hats, gloves and socks. Usually when I find a collection of patterns there are only one or two that I like and want to make, this time I like everything and want to make it all. I bought the third volume first (in ebook version which works out at £13 for 18 patterns which is a bargain, plus it’s not available on Amazon over here) and have decided to set a challenge for myself.

kcc3-cover-small_small2

I am going to attempt to knit all 18 projects from this book, in the order they appear. In this volume there are 3 hats, 9 pairs of socks, 3 shawls and 2 pairs of gloves. I’m not setting a time limit on this as my last pair of socks took me 3 months and I don’t want to add more stress to my life like I felt with the 12 pairs of socks in a year challenge! I do want to make progress though, especially as I love what’s in the other two volumes too and want to knit some of those things!

The first pattern is for the Conferva Villoso Socks:

quince_sock_small2

and I will be using some Yarntopia Treasures bamboo cotton sock yarn in the Sunflower colourway.

Yarntopia Treasures Bamboo Cotton Sock Yarn

I’m just waiting for my new 2.25mm needles to arrive in the post (they weren’t there today, hopefully tomorrow) and I will cast on.

The only thing I find odd about the book is that it doesn’t list the needle sizes with the patterns, I think the designer wants you to go on gauge and use whichever size works for you and your yarn. However, they do seem to be listed on Ravelry which is helpful as it’s nice to have a good place to start from, especially when you’re substituting yarns as I always do.

Has anyone knit any of these Curiosity Cabinet patterns? I’m excited to get on with this, there are some lovely things and I’ve not knit a hat or a shawl in a long time. It’ll also be a good stash busting exercise which is always a bonus!

One thought on “Curiosity Cabinet Challenge

  1. Hi there – what a brilliant challenge! I have knitted one of these patterns and I would advise you to choose the size nearest your “usual” number of stitches for eg a sock – do not be fooled by the author’s definitions of small / medium / large as I found them misleading.

Something to say?

