Rounding Up 2014

So, here we are again, another year gone and time to see how the crafting went. I had some grand plans, and a lot of that never even got started. I’m finding that when I do have time over a weekend or in the evening that I’d much rather sit and knit than go upstairs and sew, and that sometimes I just need to sit and not do anything more strenuous than reading a book. But, I still managed to get quite a bit done and I’m not giving up on the list of things I want to do, I just need to realise that they’re going to take longer than anticipated.

The last sewing project of the year was a dog cushion for my nephew. He liked mine when they visited, so I made him a sort of i-spy version with lots of pictures on it.

002001Sadly my sister was really ill over Christmas so she, her husband and the nephew didn’t get to come as planned (my Aunt was also ill so I cooked for 6 rather than 10) so he’s not seen it yet, but I hope he likes it.

I took the boys to their Dad for a week and came home thinking that I would try to finish off Jim’s jumper. 4 days and 2.5 series of Glee later I think the sofa has the permanent shape of my bum and I got 3 projects off the needles!

First, Jim’s jumper which was a Rico Design pattern using King Cole Big Value Aran. Jim picked both the pattern and the yarn for this on his own so I’m hoping he likes the finished thing! I added a little length to the body for him as I want it to last longer than the last jumper I made him.

005006This wasn’t a hard knit at all, lots of cables but pretty easy to keep track of and in aran it knit up fast. I am still a little annoyed by the fact that the cables aren’t mirrored and if I use this pattern for Piggle in the future I will change that about it. The back is cabled as well in cast you’re wondering, no easy pieces to this!

Next up was Spacegirl which has been sitting around waiting for sleeves for far too long. I knit the body whilst doing my research reading but the sleeves were too fiddly on dpns and keeping track of rows to do without a little attention so it’s got chucked to one side! I used SMC cotton time for this from Kemps which is a lovely yarn to knit with, although I think it’s going to pill quite a bit which is annoying.

004003I don’t know what happened at the bottom of the V, but I’m going to put a stitch in there to hold it together better because it’s annoying me to look at it. I’m happy with the way this came out and I’m looking forward to wearing it. It’s plain but not too plain and the cotton has nice weight to it.

Finally, I got the Conferva Villosa socks done. There were some errata with this pattern, the website does list one for the heel which I didn’t know before I’d finished both socks, but I had a few other annoying problems along the way. I’m still puzzled as well as to why there was a left and a right sock as it’s not a pattern that needs to be mirrored in any way and I sort of wish I’d knit the left one twice as I prefer the way the toe looks on it, but you live and learn (looking at that photo I’m wearing the left sock on my right foot, but as I don’t know my left from right without thinking about it that’s not a surprise really).

007Next up in the Curiosity Cabinet Challenge is a hat which I’m looking forward to as I haven’t done one in years!

You’d think my list of things on the needles would have shrunk after these finishes, but actually they have just been quickly replaced with projects that were waiting to be cast on, which is fine as I don’t have what feels like too much going on with my knitting at the moment and I’m happy to start the things that have been waiting. I have one more ‘old’ project to finish that just needs one sleeve and a zip so I will hopefully get that done soon too, only the start of it requires much attention so I might try to get that at least started tomorrow.

So, stats for the year.

I bought 75 y/m of fabric this year which isn’t too bad. I had that huge 19 y/m haul from the local sale and also bought some quilt backs, but I had three months where I bought nothing. I sewed 67.5 y/m, not a huge amount for me but not too shabby. It breaks down to:

3 Bags

2 Christmas Stockings

2 Dresses

1 Coat

8 T-shirts (for me and Piggle)

5 Cushions

7 Pairs of kids’ pjs

1 Curtain

1 Shirt

3 Quilts

Goals for next year are to buy less as I really don’t need it and to finish the quilts that are in progress as well as a couple of the ones I have all the fabric for, that should keep me busy! I have a list of clothing sewing and some cool new 70s patterns I bought recently so I hope to get more of the fabric off the shelves an into my wardrobe next year.

I don’t keep track of the amount of yarn I buy or use, I still have the goal of eliminating the yarn drawers and having it all in one cabinet, I will get there if I try not to buy too much in Kemps sale area and keep finishing off things! This year I knit:

4 Shawls

3 Pairs of socks

4 Jumpers

3 Cardigans

3 Dishcloths

Not bad, not great, but not bad. I’ve actually run out of places to store my hand knits despite giving a big bag of ones I never wore or didn’t like to charity so a slight slowing down isn’t a tragedy (I have 2 drawers just for hand knit socks!).

Running – in my first year of tracking I ran 233.55 miles this year. I was hoping to do 250 when I saw that I’d gone over 200 but the weather and lack of motivation put an end to those plans. My running goals for next year are to get up to 10k and take part in a few races. I will need to work on my strength and general fitness to manage it, as well as finding some running shoes that don’t put my right foot to sleep after 1.5 miles. I am planning how to manage this and hoping that I can stay motivated and injury free (and fall over less than I did this year).

Looking at how many books I read this year it’s not really a surprise that my knitting and sewing were down. I think I set a new record finishing 126 books! I read a fair amount of urban fantasy rubbish and YA series, but also some heavier and more interesting things. I wasn’t all that certain about buying a Kindle but I have to say that I’m a total convert now and don’t go anywhere without it.

There have been some ups and downs this year, we said goodbye to my Grandmother at 101 years old and my Uncle far too early. I’ve had some academic ups and downs as well as health ups and downs. But, we moved somewhere we love, we’re happy, pretty much healthy and still here ready to keep on moving forward, at the end of the day that’s still pretty damn good.

So, that was 2014. I hope you had a great Christmas, have a lovely New Year celebration whatever you chose to do (I’m going to carry on with Glee I think and maybe crack open some wine later on). Thank you for reading my blog this year and I look forward to sharing what I do with you in 2015!

One thought on “Rounding Up 2014

  1. I definitely did more reading this year too! Only 65 for me, but two of them were 1000+ page epic fantasy, so that surely has to count for something. And I wouldn’t have gotten nearly as much of that done without my Kindle. It’s just so much easier for travel/my boring retail job, because I never run out of books! Though I will still always love “real” books too.

Something to say?

