Fitting Issues

I’m having issues not just with fitting things in, but with actually making things that fit at the moment. The last two sewing projects I’ve made I can’t wear, which is a little frustrating to say the least. I will keep them both and put them in the suitcase of hopefully this will fit one day and carry on sewing, next up is a t-shirt which should fit, I mean it’s stretchy for goodness sake, but I’m still a little worried that it’ll be another waste of the sewing time I have during the school holiday.

Right after school ended the boys went to their Dad’s for a week, I wrote a sewing list and then realised that not only was I totally knackered and in need of some rest before they came back, but also I am not a sewing machine who can work 24/7, so the list has become for the entire summer rather than just one week, and even in that time period it’s probably too much!

I powered through some small projects to begin with. I bought a voice recorder for my PhD fieldwork as it would be silly to drive back and forth to University to borrow one over and over again, the recorder cost about as much as two journeys so it was worth it. Of course, I like everything to have a case, so I pulled out some scraps and the case pattern that I’ve used several times before and in about half an hour start to finish I now have a case that makes me happy to see in my bag.

Recorder PouchRecorder Pouch
Recorder PouchYes, the fabric is sideways, but I love the fabric and can live with it!

I was still in the mood for something quick and easy so I pulled out the Sock Sack pattern, fabric and zip that I’d put together a few months back and sewed it up. Like my first version I lined the sack so that all the seams were hidden (and it just looks prettier that way). I love these sock sacks and am going to have to be careful that I don’t end up with a whole heap of them like I did with the Japanese bags I made many moons back. Sock SackSock SackWhilst watching all three series of Vikings available on Amazon Prime (I love Ragnar and Co., can’t wait for the next series!) I worked on the Hexy MF quilt that has been hanging around forever and a day. I finished connecting all the flowers together into one piece (except for 6 that will be scattered top and bottom) and earlier on Piggle and I pinned it onto the backing (which is the front, front backing, backing of the quilt top???). Now I have to appliqué around the whole thing, that shouldn’t take long right?!?

I also finished off Piggle’s Ziggy Jumper and I’m really happy with the way it came out.

ZiggyThe photo isn’t odd, it is a long thin jumper for a long thin boy! I used Woolcraft Nuvo DK from Kemps, it took 2.5 balls which means this jumper cost about £4! It’s a really soft acrylic that knit up really evenly and nicely. We’ll see how it washes but if it goes well I’ll definitely buy another colour way or two for more jumpers for the boys. I did find myself trying to pick out the flecks like they shouldn’t be there, took a while to convince my brain they were ok but I got there in the end. I did the body length for an 8 year old and the sleeve length for a 9 year old as he has monkey arms and always grows out of the sleeves of things first. It’s a good fit, not too huge but with a few inches of growth in it and he’s happy with it so it’s a winner.  

I seem to have bought quite a few patterns online in the last six month, I’ve got a stack of printed PDFs that need sticking together and using. Maybe when I’m not able to sew buying sewing things makes me feel like I’m doing something! All the PDF patterns are on my to do list but I decided to try the Bettine Dress from Tilly and the Buttons first. I’ve never made one of her patterns before as they aren’t really my style and I don’t think they would suit my body type, but I’m still looking for that perfect dress pattern and had high hopes for this. Bettine Dress

I added two inches to the bodice length and I’m glad that I did as it *just* hits me on my waist, there’s none of the blousey goings on that the pattern shows in the picture and I’m really short waisted, so if you have larger boobs to fit into the dress I’d bear that in mind. The pattern is well drafted and went together quickly, there are some nice details and I love the big pockets.

Bettine DressThe fabric is from Abakhan so it’s another 7 year oldish piece. I have enough left for a Scout so I may make that soon as I’ll not be wearing this dress this summer as sadly it doesn’t fit me. The bust just fits, despite the pattern claiming that it was going to be 2 inches larger than my bust, and the waist and hips are too tight on me. Should it ever fit it is a high contender for the uniform dress I’m looking for I think, but until then it’s into the suitcase with it.

Next up was the Aida Top which I’d bought the pattern for ages ago. I used a piece of the vintage fabric from the local sale. Again, like the last piece I used, it stinks of old lady house when being ironed and it’s another synthetic that looks like cotton, although it has a slight sheen to it. Aida Top Aida Top

That back collar isn’t fabulous, but it would be covered with hair. Some serious french seaming went into this, the collar was sewn many times what with two lots of french seams and under stitching. This is the second project that doesn’t fit me though, I’m not too gutted about it actually as I think this crosses the line from ‘vintage looking’ to ‘granny cleaning smock’, it’s a very narrow line and I feel like I walk the edge of it a lot when it comes to using vintage fabric or patterns. I didn’t make buttonholes as it wasn’t worth the swearing with this fabric and I knew by that point that I wasn’t going to be wearing it (maybe ever) so the buttons are just sewn through both layers. We’ll see how I feel about it should it ever fit or if it goes right to the charity shop (although I’ll have to change the buttons if it does as those are vintage from my Granny or Great Aunt’s collections that I inherited).

Anyway, as I said, it’s a t-shirt up next using the Cake Riff pattern, hopefully that will be wearable this summer. My list has about another 10 projects on it, maybe more (and two of those are quilts, I dream big!), so hopefully I will be back to show you more finished things soon. I still haven’t blocked the other jumper I finished a few weeks back so I must get that done sometime too.

Hope it’s not raining everywhere, and if it is that you’re getting to take advantage of the sewing time!

2 thoughts on “Fitting Issues

  1. I love your son’s jumper…and your set with the circles…so pretty…too bad about the granny cleaning shirt though…

  2. Anne says:

    I wonder if you would be ok for a pattern swap. Feel free to contact me if you are interested, I have quite a big library of patterns.

Something to say?

