Destashing (at last!)

A few years ago (no exaggeration!) I started thinning out my pattern collection. It’s fair to say that I had a rather severe pattern buying habit for a few years and I amassed a huge collection, a lot of which I knew at the time I’d probably not sew (lets face it I’m not the big skirted vintage dress wearer and never will be) but they were pretty, and cheap at the time due to great exchange rates and reasonable postage.

I’ve kept culling patterns, and then I started on magazines (I love to flip through them but can count on one hand the number of things I’ve ever made from them) until I had a precarious tower of things. I gave away most of the patterns that had been cut and then never found the time to do anything about the rest and hummed and hawed about how it was best to get rid of them.

Yesterday I finally decided to do something about it and so I got them all out, photographed them and price checked them. Well, all the patterns in envelopes minus a bag of vintage ones that need pieces counting and more research to find prices. I then opened an Etsy store and today I began listing.

I’ve got about 40 on there so far, I’ve got over 200 (told you it was a bad habit, but we’re also talking 13 years of collecting!) still to go from this initial lot and I will be adding them a few at a time.

So, if you’re into the Butterick Repro vintage patterns, the Vogue Repro patterns, Amy Butler patterns, Onion patterns, Jalie patterns, vintage patterns, and later on Vogue Knitting, Interweave Knits and Ottobre Kids magazines pop on over and take a look. I am only posting to the UK as it’s not very environmentally friendly to send stuff back to the States or around the world, and Royal Mail rates are stupid anyway.

Here’s the link to my surprisingly  named Etsy shop finallywakingupUK! I hope you find something you like!

And in case you’re wondering whether I’m just going to invest the funds back into more sewing stuff, the answer is no. I’m intending to use whatever I make to pay down my credit card, which is how I paid for most of it in the first place…

One thought on “Destashing (at last!)

  1. Hope you are feeling OK and everything is going well. Good job on the destash . I am destashing by sewing and not buying. So far only bought one piece of fabric and that is for my daughter anyway.

Something to say?

