Keeping On Keeping On

Didn’t realise it had been a month since that last post, opps. I am finally starting to feel better and the side effects of chemo are wearing off. My brain is coming back on-line too which is nice and I am down to having only a half hour nap each day (I was at 2-3 hrs at the worst points), I need the nap but I wake up after half an hour feeling much better. I have been having problems with the stoma, well not the stoma itself but keeping a stoma bag on without it leaking for any decent length of time has been hard for about two months now. I finally got a stoma nurse to come and see me and we figured out what was happening and now I just have to try different suggestions until something works at stopping that happening. It’s pretty depressing and annoying, but luckily to date it’s not happened away from the house (probably as I don’t go out much!!). If it stays like it is now where I get about 12 hrs (I used to get 3 days between changes) then I will just have to live with that until the reversal but I’m hopeful that I will be able to figure something out to make it a bit better.

I’ve also been working on what I eat, but that’s a whole post on its own which I will write at some point when I’ve figured out more clearly what I’m trying to do.

I think the most exciting thing is that I started running again this week! With the stoma issues I stopped the yoga for  bit but wanted to do some exercise so I decided to walk on the treadmill. I live in a really hilly area halfway up a very steep hill and using the treadmill means I can step off at any time I need to and I won’t get stuck half a mile from home too tired to get back (of course I bought the treadmill a few months before I was diagnosed and it’s sat there for 8 months unused, sigh)! My first time on I decided to walk a mile and see how I felt. Well, I felt well enough to run a few bits of it, not a lot, but it was running! I decided that it was a good sign that I was in better shape than I thought I yesterday I started the Zombies Run Couch to 5k programme and managed the 1st workout well. I covered 2 miles even in 33.20. It’s a walk/run programme and at my slowest running outside on the big hills I’ve sometimes run an entire 2 miles in that time so I was happy with what I did. In the final part of the session they leave you to decide if you walk or run or a combination for the final 10 minutes. I figured I’d run a few short bits but then a song came on from my first C25K programme. I always put this song on my running playlist because it reminds me of how far I’ve come from when I couldn’t run for 30 seconds and my rule is that when it’s on, no matter how tired I am or how bit the hill I’m on is, I run for the entire song, and so I did! I’m excited to get back and do some more next week and also to try to get back to some more yoga as I’m enjoying the programme I’ve been doing.

Anyway, you’re probably here for the makes, so here are a few more!

Sway DressSway Dress

This is the Sway Dress which too an age for me to get around to hemming as it was the most uneven thing I’ve ever made. I know it’s bias cut but it was ridiculously longer at the sides than front and back. I love this fabric, from The Textile Centre or maybe Abakhan, but should have lengthened it quite a bit as it’s not a great length on me even with leggings under it. I don’t know yet whether I’m going to chop it into a tunic or somehow add a band to the bottom of it in the same fabric to make it longer, we’ll see. The armholes are a little low on the sides as well so if I ever make this again I will adjust that. It’s a nice pattern, just probably not the best for someone quite as short and round as I am!

Next up is a massive cuddly shawl using Drops Paris Aran in Mustard and the Always Amsterdam pattern. This is a really easy addictive knit and I adore the colour of it, it’s going to get a lot of use I’m sure.

Always AmsterdamAlways AmsterdamAlways AmsterdamAlways Amsterdam I’ve just cast on for another shawl by the designer Isabell Kraemer and bought yarn for a third so you could say I’m a fan now!

Some socks! This colour caught my eye in my stash and I wanted to knit some easy socks to get back into the habit of making them so I cast on for the Primavera Socks using Yarntopia Treasures bamboo sock in Orange Marmalade. These were indeed easy and quick and took under a month start to finish which was nice after sock projects taking me literally years of late!

Primavera Socks

I’d like to say the momentum continued but my most recent pair of socks only have half a cuff in the month they’ve been on the needles…

We had quite a miserable dull summer weather wise (and in general as I wasn’t well enough to do much so it was the dullest one we’ve had in a long time…) and it seems to have made me want to make huge shawls. I had this bright pink Jaeger Aqua in my stash from basically when I picked up knitting again 13 years or so ago. I think I got it from Ebay thinking that it was a good amount to make something from, but turns out I could never match it to any patterns. So it is nice to see it knit up into Groovy and to finally be something I will wear.

Groovy ShawlGroovy ShawlGroovy Shawl

This is another stupidly easy shawl to knit and I did a lot of it whilst watching Orange is the New Black from start to finish.

I made a list of projects I wanted to finish (or make progress on as with this one) whilst I had the time to do these things and before I get back to studying and feeling guilty for making rather than working! A long while back I finished a sock yarn blanket and I cast on for another one just afterwards. This one has been in progress for 2 years now and basically all yarn (of shawl and sock weight) that I have leftovers from after completing a project gets added to the blanket in the order I complete the projects. I had quite a bit to get through this time:
Crochet Blanket Progress

All of that is now worked into the blanket and it is almost single bed size so, depending how many shawls and socks I finish, it shouldn’t be a WIP for long then I will need to find a new pattern that works for random amounts of yarn. The first one was stripes and this one is a huge granny rectangle! It was nice to crochet again for a bit and to know that I’m up to date with this project again.

Not a great photo, but I made a second Roberts Jumpsuit.
Roberts Jumpsuit

This one was a size smaller than the last which is much better and I used a lovely linen from stash, no idea where it came from but I’ve had it for years and it’s a really great mix of grey and blue. I’ve worn this a few times and it’s really comfortable. It’s a real bitch to iron though!

And that is everything I have pictures of! I finished a cardigan during the Olympics and finally blocked it today so there will be pictures soon. I have also finished a shawl that needs a block too. There’s the quilt too which needs pictures taking and I’m almost done with a dressing gown. The quilt really stole my sewing mojo as I didn’t work on anything until it was done once I reached the quilting stage and my enthusiasm wasn’t huge for it at that point. I love it now and will try to get some pictures if it dries up enough to take it outside as the backing fabric is light coloured!

I’ve also got the finishitis/startitis combination again, desperately trying to get things off the needles whilst casting on randomly for new things! It’s balancing out one off one on right now but that’s mainly because I needed the needles from one thing to use for the next. I have so many things I want to work on which is lovely but having too many things on the go means they take ages to finish. It’s always been like this for me with knitting though so maybe one day I will learn to not stress about it!

Back with more to show hopefully in less than a month (no promises though!).

5 thoughts on “Keeping On Keeping On

  1. Margaret says:

    Glad you are feeling better! I love that yellow shawl. I have never made a full size shawl – just the smaller triangles. That looks like a great pattern to start with. Take care 🙂

  2. You have been very productive! Of all these, my very favorite is the Always Amsterdam shawl – I’ve added it to my Rav queue because of you!

    So glad to hear that you are feeling better, and really impressed that you’re getting back to running!

Something to say?

