How Far Behind is Too Far Behind?

I have so much stuff to show you, some of it going back ages and ages. Enough stuff that this is going to take two blog posts to get through, so lets get the first one going!

I watched all available Big Bang Theory sometime during my treatment and the newest series on Netflix right after it came out. However, that wasn’t what prompted me to make the Miss Winkle shawl, that was a combination of seeing the colours of the yarn through the glass door of my yarn cabinet and thinking that knitting the loops might be fun.

Turns out it was a good combination and I’m really happy with the way this came out. I finished this at the start of October! The yarn is Yarntopia Treasures 100% bamboo in Color Path so it’s really soft and I don’t have another scarf this bright so it’s a nice addition to my collection. I knit until the yarn was all gone so it’s pretty decent size as there were 630y in this skein. I love Martina Behm patterns, they’re fun and quick which is just what you need sometimes when it comes to shawl knitting otherwise you get bogged down by them.
Miss WinkleMiss Winkle

I knit this Felicity hat in the middle of October using 2 balls of Grey Blue Drops Paris. I went down .25 in needle size and it fits quite well. It’s really hard to get a good photo of yourself wearing a hat… Not much to say about this free pattern, you knit round and round, decrease and wallah, hat…
Felicity Hat

I said I was going to make another Sunny Top and I did, again using a sweater knit from Fabworks Online. This one is kind of silvery and grey with some black. Again I did the construction on the overlocker and just hemmed with the sewing machine. These are so comfortable to wear and I love the shape. I’m sure as soon as I stop wearing mostly jogging bottoms and pyjamas they will be in high rotation, especially in the Spring when they’ll be the right weight, they don’t fit so well under a cardigan so I’m wearing them with a thermal t-shirt underneath at the moment!
Sunny TopSunny Top

Jim needed another sweater as he grew out of the highly cabled red turtleneck one I made him a while back. I am knitting him another jumper, but at present it would only keep his stomach warm so I whipped him up a Kwik Sew Sewing For Children fleece sweatshirt as I still had the pattern out from making his pyjamas. I think this is a Windpro expensive fleece, it’s been in my stash forever and I was tired of seeing it so I stuck it with some striped ribbing I bought yonks ago and have hardly used and in about half an hour he had a new top to wear, easy, but hard to photograph…
KSSFC Sweatshirt

Before going into hospital I cut out a bit stack of things to sew as I knew that bending over to cut out and my accuracy at cutting might be hard post-op. I cut a variety of things so I’d have a selection. Of course, as is usual for me, what I felt like making were Sock Sacks using the free pattern I’ve used before, and which I had not cut out… These take two fat quarters and are really quick to make. It’s nice to see fabric from my quilting stash actually used for something.

Although designed for socks these will also fit a hat, gloves or a small shawl on circulars so they’re a really useful size. I added a lining to each of them but I’ve not put photos of them, basically it’s just the contrast fabric on each one. I cut the fabric the same size as the outer before doing the final side seam, seam the side and bottom of the lining, turn over 3/8″ at the top and then attach it to the bag when I do the top stitching around the top.

So, I decided to make 4 of these. I did that and then decided to do two more, found I had an orange zip and ended up doing 3 more. Then I counted what I had and with the 2 I’d made previously I had 9 which was an annoying number, so I made another 1 for an even 10! They really don’t take any time to do, and they have a nice set of different but short and simple steps to complete them which is apparently what my brain wanted during the days I worked on them. I’ve had fun casting on lots of socks (and then ripping out a few pairs that weren’t looking good so I think I have 4 pairs on the go at the moment and a hat waiting to be cast on) and deciding which bag to put them in!

So, for your viewing pleasure, a carnival of knitting bags!
Sock SackSock SackSock SackSock SackSock SackSock SackSock SackSock Sack 8

I then decided that I wanted some larger knitting bags so I Googled and came up with a handful of free patterns that I want to try. The first was the Reversible Box Tote which takes two half yards of fabric. I didn’t add a pocked to the other side of the bag as the pattern called for as I knew I’d always be looking in the wrong pocket and it’d frustrate me. Also, with an open pocked you’re not going to store more than the packet for your circulars (which fits perfectly) and maybe your pattern and a pen anyway so I wouldn’t need two.

I adore both these fabrics so I was really pleased to use them, and I found some very very stiff thick iron on interfacing to use too, maybe too thick and not great quality as there are some bubbles and coming unstuck bits already and I’ve only had it less than a week.
Reversible Box ToteReversible Box Tote

Whilst I love the look of this bag and how much it can hold, you can probably get a sweater in there, I’ve got a big shawl in mine, I really did not like the construction and unless I can come up with a better way to do it than it says and the alternate way I tried I probably won’t make another. The pattern calls for you to fold over a quarter inch around the top of the bag and the lining and then top stitch them together which is just a total pain in the ass and not really possible with the really stiff interfacing. Burnt fingers aside, the frustration of getting those edges lined up in a pleasing way just seems impossible. I undid the top of the handle and turned and topstitched all around the top and then sewed the handles together again so it looks a bit like a french seam underneath. You can see the wrinkles in the second picture and the interfacing didn’t like being tugged around the way it was when I turned it. If anyone can think of a better way of attaching the bag to the lining give me a shout as I’d love a few more of these but my brain isn’t coming up with anything besides trying it with thinner interfacing when I turn and top stitch which might mean it’s floppy and annoying.

Anyway, that’s the first half of my round up, I will get the second one done whenever I manage to take a picture of the socks that have been finished for almost a week!

One thought on “How Far Behind is Too Far Behind?

  1. How about making the outside of the bag taller and folding it over so there’s about 1/2″ of outside on the inside? That way, the join is inside the bag rather than on show on the top edge. Also, decovil light is ideal for this sort of project – that’s what I used in my trug and it handles being manipulated really well and doesn’t unstick if you’ve followed the fusing instructions. Love all the sock sacks!

Something to say?

