2016 Round Up

2016 has been a pretty bad year all around, hopefully it won’t let the door hit it on the ass on the way out.

I did get to make quite a bit this year though, I would have rather not had the time to do all the making, or at least not had the time for the reasons that I did, but I think I made the most of it and have had quite a bit to show for it, so much so that I had to order more coat hangers today!

So, the figures for 2016 are as so:

I read 102 books this year, which is pretty good, although quite a few below the 155 I read last year. I read non-stop until around July which was towards the end of chemo and then my brain stopped being able to keep track of even the most simple of plots. That was when I started to watch Netflix and Prime and knit a lot more. I’ve recently begun to try and read again, irritatingly I had a succession of books that I didn’t like or want to finish so I have now had the pleasure of deleting those off my Kindle and I’m looking forward to reading things that I actually enjoy in the new year!

Knitting I made 27 things, which is just over double the 13 of last year, they were:

  • 12 shawls, it has been the year of the shawl and I currently have another 4 on the needles, I’m not sure why I’ve been making so many but I’m not stopping for a while according to my Ravelry queue
  • 2 jumpers
  • 6 pairs of socks
  • 4 cardigans
  • 1 pair of fingerless mittens
  • 2 hats

Not a bad collection at all. Of course I have a ton on the needles as my attention span was even worse than usual so I will hopefully have a big finish up of things in the new year as I’ve been looking through my Ravelry queue and I’m very excited about what’s there waiting to be made. Along with the 4 shawls mentioned above I am also working on 6 pairs of socks, 4 jumpers, a blanket, a cardigan and a poncho, so lots to keep me busy for sure!

Sewing has been all go or no go as in the blog post called just that. I’ve either lived in the sewing room making things non-stop or I’ve had no interest at all and haven’t set foot in there for ages. My book of what I’ve made says 64 projects, but I know that’s actually less than I made as for things like the boys’ pyjamas and the sock sacks I entered the projects I batch made in one entry rather than singly. Last year I made 27 things so that’s rather a large jump! My fabric in and fabric out were a very large number that I won’t share and are about even which isn’t really a good thing. As I said in an earlier post I’m going to not buy fabric for a while and try and get the stash a little bit more under control in 2017. The FO number breaks down as:

  • 8 dresses
  • 5 skirts
  • 16 t-shirts
  • 2 jumpsuits
  • 1 pair of dungarees
  • 10 pairs of pyjamas
  • 12 shirts/blouses
  • 3 pairs of trousers
  • 2 Kindle cases
  • 2 bags
  • 10 sock sacks
  • 1 dressing gown
  • Hexy MF Quilt

That’s a total of 73 things! I still have a pile of garments cut out and a head full of things I want to make. I worked shortly on a Pinterest board to try and find pictures for the kind of style I have in my head at the moment. Luckily it’s based around some patterns that I already own (plus one I bought when I saw it on Pinterest as it was exactly what I wanted). It won’t be an all at once change as obviously I still have plenty of clothes to wear that I do like and don’t want to get rid of and I will have less sewing time next year, but I do have the basis of a plan in mind and I’m looking forward to sewing towards it.

Sewing and knitting goals for 2017 (along with the stash goals) are

  • to make things that fit with the plan I’m forming
  • not to make things just because I can – I didn’t really need 5 Montlake t-shirts, they were just easy and I had jersey in the stash…
  • to make basic alternations to patterns if they need them, I’m lazy when it comes to this but moving the bust dart isn’t hard and doesn’t take long so I should be doing it
  • to knit projects that fit with other clothes I own and with the plan, I’m guilty of knitting many a thing that I don’t actually wear just because it was fun and the colour was pretty, no more wasting yarn this way!
  • to try and make more quilts, I’ve got so many either on the go or sitting there with all the fabric waiting, I want to get them out of the sewing room and in use.
  • to finish the cross stitch year stitch sampler that for 3 or more years now has been stalled at November…

I hope you all had productive and fun knitting, sewing and crafting experiences in 2016 and here’s to many more for us all in 2017! Thanks for following along and leaving comments. I know blogging is pretty old school these days but I still enjoy the recording of what I’ve done in this manner so I’ll keep going for as long as that is true.

2 thoughts on “2016 Round Up

  1. Pam says:

    Agreed – I hope 2017 is much better for you. I’m sure it will be. I do enjoy reading about all the things you make – you are ultra-productive (compared to me!).

Something to say?

